Login | Register

Dagger Zydeco Kayak Kayaks Review

Dagger Zydeco Kayak


Description
Zydeco features an ergonomically-designed seat and maneuverable, well-tracking hull design that won't have you paddling in circles all day. The large cockpit means comfort for a wide range of body types, and its short length and light weight make it a great kids' boat. Super-comfortable seat with beverage holder, adjustable footbraces, recessed deck fittings and shockcord deck rigging are all standard. Carrying toggles and a security bar with irreversible screws make carrying and securing your boat easy and convenient. Skin-foam inner construction provides flotation and stiffness; polyethylene outer layer offers durability.


More Products from Dagger  >>
Read the Reviews >>     Write a Review >>    



Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating  | View All

Reviews 1 - 5 (6 Reviews Total) | Next 5

Review Date
September 8, 2003

Overall Rating
 5 of 5

Value Rating
 5 of 5

Visitors rate this review
3.67 of 5, 3.00 votes

Rate this review?

Reviewed by: Sherrie Tucker ,  Paddler , from Bow NH

Summary:
I bought my zydeco a year ago and have used it every weekend that the weather permitted. I have scratched the bottom to the max and it still handles great. I have gone over rapids and beaver dams and have had the best time of my life

Customer Service:
never had to call


Would you like to Comment?
Join OutdoorReview for a free account, or Login if you are already a member.

Review Date
June 6, 2003

Overall Rating
 5 of 5

Value Rating
 5 of 5

Rate this review?

Reviewed by: greggm ,  Snowboarder , from Midland, Michigan USA

Summary:
Bought two Zydecos on June 6, 2003 for $218 a piece. I already have two for use on a small lake. They are fabulous for beginners and intermediates. Can't be it at this price. Paid $359 a pice for first two a year ago.


Would you like to Comment?
Join OutdoorReview for a free account, or Login if you are already a member.

Review Date
June 1, 2003

Overall Rating
 5 of 5

Value Rating
 5 of 5

Rate this review?

Reviewed by: flyboy__ben ,  Paddler

Summary:
i just got a dagger zydeco 9. it tracks well (okay), can handle alot of weight and is small and compact. slightly tippy, but i like that. for an 11 year old kid (as i am). this boat can't be beat.

Customer Service:
we havn't had to contact/deal with customer service at Dagger, so i don't know. at Galyan's it was fair.

Similar Products Used:
Old-Town Otter; many, many aluminum canoes


Would you like to Comment?
Join OutdoorReview for a free account, or Login if you are already a member.

Review Date
June 16, 2002

Overall Rating
 5 of 5

Value Rating
 5 of 5

Visitors rate this review
5.00 of 5, 1.00 votes

Rate this review?

Reviewed by: Rob-Pittsburgh ,  Paddler , from Pittsburgh

Summary:
I got an unbelievable deal on this boat about a year ago at Oak Orchard in Western New York. This is an awesome boat. I've paddled it on class II whitewater, lakes, rivers, ponds, you name it. The boat tracks fairly well for being so short and turns with ease. I taught my 10-yr old nephews to paddle with this boat and had them running class II in less than 20 minutes. In addition to how great the boat is on the water, it is fairly light and fits in the bed of my truck for easy transport. I can also easily lift it on top of my van for family vacations. Finally, I frequently will put my 4-yr old son in front of me in the cockpit and the two of us will spend hours paddling in this boat. When he is ready for a boat of his own, this will be the one I buy.

Similar Products Used:
Old Town
Aquaterra
Perception


Would you like to Comment?
Join OutdoorReview for a free account, or Login if you are already a member.

Review Date
December 3, 2001

Overall Rating
 4 of 5

Value Rating
 5 of 5

Visitors rate this review
1.00 of 5, 1.00 votes

Rate this review?

Reviewed by: Kelly ,  Paddler

Summary:
This is a great little boat for the price. Front and rear bungee cords plus lots of interior room up front of the seat. I packed two soft-sided coolers, a dry bag, and my boxer puppy (she's named Dagger,can you tell I love their products!) in this thing last summer and was still comfortable on a long day float. (I know what you're thinking but after her initial dunk, she decided to take a walk along the back of the boat,she loved it. By the way, always equip your pet with a life jacket, Dagger has one and yours should too.) It's a short boat so it kind of feels like you're paddling a bath tub but that also contributes to it's stability. I can stand up in it and rock it without it tipping. Takes much more effort to paddle due to it's small size so I wouldn't recommend it for extended trips but would be a great boat for kids or small frame adults who want something that's lite enough to handle by yourself out of the water. I can cartop it myself onto my SUV without problem. I plan on purchasing something bigger for next season that offers a dry hatch for overnite gear and more room for full grown Daggerdog. (skip the Bayou- read my review of it- if you're thinking of something bigger than the Zydeco.) Dagger offers great products for price. Cool colors and wide variety of models. REI is a fantastic store, buy from them if there's one in your area. Their staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. It's nice to have access to a store where the employees actually regularly use the products they're selling.

Customer Service:
Haven''t had any reason to use it. No problems.

Similar Products Used:
None


Would you like to Comment?
Join OutdoorReview for a free account, or Login if you are already a member.

Reviews 1 - 5 (6 Reviews Total) | Next 5

Review Options:  Sorted by Latest Review | Sort by Best Rating  | View All