The Creek Company ODC 816 Float Tubes Pontoon Boats

The Creek Company ODC 816 Float Tubes Pontoon Boats 

DESCRIPTION

The new ODC 816 is a full-featured one man fishing machine engineered for the utmost in performance, durability and portability. Ideal for fishing your favorite ponds, lakes and rivers. 8 foot long, 16 inch diameter pontoons made of heavy duty 840 denier.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-7 of 7  
[Jun 21, 2020]
big R


Strength:

I got mine from my father in law about a year ago and had it stored at a friends house over the winter. Got it out yesterday and put air in the bladders to see if they were still good. The only thing I can find wrong with it is the straps are starting to rot out and one cover has been repaired at one time. I have not had it in the water yet.

Weakness:

Have not yet been in the water with it

Price Paid:
1
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1990
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Dec 28, 2010]
Ken Farmer
Backpacker

Had my ODC816 6 or 7 years and love it . had to patch bladder once , and had to build a backpack for it . I have carried it many km's to back lakes on the eastern shore of Nova Scotia. 46 pounds and aluminum frame , awesome. If a person can keep the pontoons and bladders clean and inflate them for storage in the off season the life of the bladder will improve . I have even used it as a frame of a shelter for sleeping under.

Customer Service

I bought extra drop pins , wish there were 1 each more on purchace.

Similar Products Used:

none , very few in our area.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 07, 2008]
R.D.
Paddler

I have had this unit for about six years, I added a couple of items such as a trolling motor mount and fishfinder mount. I carry a gel cell battery and a Minkota 5 speed trolling motor and Buddy fishfinder (mostly to look for structure). Also I replaced the seat with a rotating type folding seat that helped get some more heighth without loosing balance. I weigh 200+ and believe this exceeds the weight restrictions but it handles it fine. In fifth gear it pulls a nice wake. I can fish all day on one charge, but always have the oars to rely on.

Customer Service

I have not needed to use customer service, although I did upgrade to a thicker quality bladders (found outfit online that did OEM bladders). Didn't have a problem before but was leary, haven't had a problem still. The frabric is getting dis colored a bit (sun bleached) but material is hold strong.

Similar Products Used:

Various float tubes, Browning, Caddis

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 20, 2008]
layinframe_95
Backpacker

I have had my boat for several years now and have yet to have a problem. Fast in the water, rides high, and very durable. I would not trade this boat for any of the competitions equivalents.

Customer Service

I have not had to use this but I imagine if they are half as good as my boat that they would be very impressive.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 30, 2006]
Dan
Backpacker

I bought this 3 yrs ago at Cabelas bargin bin. Someone else must have returned it. I should have known better. I have had the bladders replaced 3 times. This last time they gave me 2 new style bladders and I have not had a problem. The other times the split I had driven a long way on trips and when I got there I had to rent a boat because mine would not hold air. The biggest complaint I have is your feet are half way in the water when you row it. I weigh 215 and my seat gets wet a lot. But the worse part is the drag from you feet being in the water. Also the foot rest tilt down so your feet keep sliding off all the time. The rest of the boat is fine but I fish with 2 other guys and one of them have an Outcast and the other a Fishcat. Both can run circles around me. I am wore out after rowing all day at full power just to keep up with them. They could fix these problems very easy and I thought about doing it my self. But after this weekend I think I will sell it and buy another brand. I do mostly small streams and flat water. This is not the boat for that.

Customer Service

Customer service is very good but it stiil does not help when you want to go fishing and your boat is broke.

Similar Products Used:

Outcast and Fishcat

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 04, 2003]
ssdrive
10 days a year

Strength:

Light weight-I have the aluminum model. One man can carry the boat by himself out of the water by standing in the center of the boat and picking it up by the frame. I can handle everything I need for a day trip or overnight on the back storage rack. Great on rivers.

Weakness:

Need to manufacture your own rod holders. I made mine out of PVC and I slide my rod into the "tube" when I am traveling between holes.

Excellent purchase. I have been out 20 times and I have never had a problem. I weigh 205 pounds and the boat rides high in the water. Great manuverability. Durable-I have bounced over and into many tree branches night fishing. Very stable, almost impossible to tip over. Easy to get into and out of. Of all the models I have seen I would purchase this model again when it comes time to buy another boat.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 20, 2002]
Rick Mutaw
20 days a year

Strength:

good workmanship, great price

Weakness:

No anchor system

Tired of hearing about all thes guys whining over poor workmanship of a quality product. Lets face it theres bound to be a lemon once and awhile, send it back and get a new one. Dont trash the manufacturer. I love the boat it breaks down into a large duffel and allows me to get into very shallow areas, with great maneuverability, Keep up the good work guys. Excellent product. Oh and for all you guys complaining about riding to low inthe water....MIX IN A SALAD ONCE AND AWHILE!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com