Osprey Packs Eclipse 42 Internal Frame Backpacks

Osprey Packs Eclipse 42 Internal Frame Backpacks 

DESCRIPTION

· 2600 cubic inch capacity · Shovel pocket with daisy chain · Ski straps · #10 YKK zipper on backpanel for main compartment access · Dual ice axe loops

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Aug 25, 2021]
ceceliafredrick


Strength:

The compressible design is very nice and handles large and small loads nice. Auto Glass Repair of Sacramento

Weakness:

none so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 13, 2010]
Stef
Day Hiker

It's the best back pack ever!
But I couldn't found any other any were!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 14, 2005]
kayakdan
Backpacker

This pack kicks but! I dont replace gear often, my other pack is a 20 year old alice pack. this pack holdes about the same amount and is great for about 35 pounds witch is plenty for 2-3 days.The pack holds gear very snug I barley could tell it was there.I tried on every pack in the place for about 2 hours and this pack blew them all away it is H.D. all the way. folds down flat for kayak backpacking in the DACKS.Two thumbs up!!!

Customer Service

Not needed

Similar Products Used:

U.S alice pack old and can add extra pouches.not very modern but good.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 05, 2003]
Nicholas Yu
Backpacker

Nice looking bag. I have the Eclipse 42, I find it uncomforatble. The harness system just dosn't seem to transfer enough weight from the shoulders. Maybe its just me, but its my review so :P The zipper is not easily accessible, but sturdy. The compressible design is very nice and handles large and small loads nice. I am getting rid of the bag, because its HEAVY, the bag alone is 2kg!!! that is my water for the day!. Not to mention this bag is the most expensive in its class. I am now using a serratus genie,which is 600g and holds everything I need and more. Great bag, but not as useful as their bigger bags. Only 2 stars b/c there are other bags for MUCH cheaper that will work just the same.

Customer Service

AMAZING. I needed clips for the bag and they sent them free, the same week

Similar Products Used:

Osprey Crecent 90, various MEC.ca bags, Serratus

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 14, 2002]
ndchope
Climber

This is an really cool pack for winter sports and light loads, but I think it's not so good for a trad rack, rope, and summer climbing. I find it can't support the weight of the climbing gear so well, and it's difficult to load, especially when it gets full. The back panel zipper is a little sticky. Osprey's quality is great, I have a Scarab that is 4 years old and have had no problems related to the construction (only zipper problems from climbing a chimney with it). I wouldn't recommend the Eclipse 42 because I think it's doesn't handle a load so well, it sits quite far off of the back when load (the pack is very deep) causing the user to have to lean forward a lot.

Customer Service

no dealings with Osprey

Similar Products Used:

Osprey Scarab, Gregory Reality X

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 13, 2002]
Nick
Climber

I bought this pack because I think my Scarab is one of the most useful packs I've ever owned. The straight jacket design is great for small loads and stability and panel access rules, I think anyone who uses a panel access pack will agree. I was pleased to use this pack during the winter for ice climbing (rope, axes, fleece, screws, lunch) but it has been less useful as a rock climbing pack (trad rack, rope, water, harness, shoes). I find the load sits too far away from my back and always wanted to pull me backwards when it's fully loaded, and it's not big enough to haul everything unless it's fully loaded. A full load makes the back zipper awful hard to close too, and the light weight waistbelt doesn't help anything. I didn't get around to carrying skis with this pack, but expect it would do so just fine, full or empty just like my scarab. It doesn't fit as well as the scarab though, due to the stiffer backpanel. I'm keeping the scarab (with a nicely abraided zipper from some chimney climbing - be careful!) and dumping the Eclipse 42 for a more traditional top loader, they just work with any load. It's also a really pricey pack for the size.

Customer Service

No dealings yet

Similar Products Used:

Osprey Scarab, Gregory Reality X

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 25, 2002]
Lynne
Climber

I just got my Osprey Eclipse 42, and boy is this a sweet pack. I haven't used it yet, but here are my initial impressions. I got the medium pack w/a small hip belt, and since the shoulder straps can be moved up and down in the back panel, the fit is perfect. Typical Osprey - super comfy! It's a strange concept (to me) for a pack, panel loading that is. But I got this pack for cragging, and I do believe it's perfect. I've hated stuffing my expensive climbing rack into the top of my other packs. I can never get all the cams and stuff to sit in there nicely or compactly and I worry about bending stems and trigger wires. With this pack I can lay it all in as well as see everything inside the pack when I open it. The zippers work smoothly and I don't anticipate any problems with anything from Osprey. Some nice additional features I didn't expect are easy access external side pockets (mesh), seperate, externally accessible hydration bladder compartment, a top pocket, top access to the inside of the pack, and what I like very much are two side pockets inside the main compartment along both sides, top to bottom. This pack also has a shovel pocket and a daisy chain on the back and an ingenious way to carry skiis or a board (and since it's panel loading, you don't have to remove them until you need them). The compression system is very impressive as well. Very nice pack - I'm super thrilled! I also have an Osprey Aether 60 which I love and I have no doubt that my new Eclipse will carry very well.

Customer Service

www.thesnowleopard.com is a great vendor. Haven't needed Osprey customer support yet.

Similar Products Used:

Too many to list.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 25, 2002]
Alan Leung
Backpacker

This review is refered to Eclipse 32 Extremely comfortable and loads of features. Boomproof construction. Very stable while running on trail. Good price in HK (only around US$100).

Similar Products Used:

Karrimor Hot Ice Dana Humbug Spire Arc''''teryx Arro 16

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 08, 2001]
Kam Leang
Skier

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

I just bought the Eclipse 42 after owning Osprey''s Scarab pack for one year, which started the whole straight-jacket trend. This design by far has been the best I''ve seen and experienced. The packs carry the loads so well you don''t even notice all the gear you''re carrying. Looks? Yeah, it looks retarded (I thought the same when I first saw them) but function before fashion my friends! This pack is great for backcountry skiing, climbing, mountaineering and everything else. I''m completely sold on the straight-jacket design, hence my new purchase of the Eclipse 42!

Similar Products Used:

Opsrey Scarab Pack, Dana Design Bomb Pack

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 09, 2001]
Chris
Climber

This Review is actually for the Eclipse 32, which is not listed.

This Backpack is incredible. They look funny as hell, but the function far outweighs the fashion. It is the most comfortable pack one will ever wear, molds right to your back, but is still more supportive than any pack anywhere near like it. Try it, you'll like it

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com