Danner Mountian Light II Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

Danner Mountian Light II Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

n/a

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 28  
[Jun 25, 2022]
ceceliafredrick


Strength:

This pair of boots is good-looking, great in support and comfort, even when I got a heavy load on my back. I didn't get blisters at all. I'll recommend this to our Austin CPA !

Weakness:

None so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 08, 2022]
Laurence L.


Strength:

I have worn these boots through every type of weather and distance. If anyone can tell me where to look for another pair at a decent price. Benbrook Pressure Washing Services

Weakness:

Not so far.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 20, 2021]
Madmardigan


Strength:

The boots I have now are subjected to all sorts of terrain, water, mud, and weather every day. I have worn out the second pair in just a year and a half, which is great considering the abuse these boots must take. -- Tile Company

Weakness:

none so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Sep 28, 2008]
Day Walker
Backpacker

Bought my 1st pair in early 90s. Have lasted ever since with 4 resoles by Danner.
Retired my 1st pair for around the house and day hikes. Recently bought my 2nd pair. Wore new pair around the house for a coupel weeks for break in, but the boots really didn't need much break in.
Boot is very comfortable, good ankle support. Designed to be used with after market insoles. Runs a bit narrow so i use the EE width.
Comfortable enough to wear around town.
I've tried most of the major brands and the mtn light 2 is simply a better boot.

Customer Service

Excellent. The Folks at Danner are very responsive.

Similar Products Used:

Vasque, Kalyland, Asolo, Montrail, Raichele

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 29, 2004]
fiddledoc
Day Hiker

I tried these boots for a day--and returned them. After walking around in them for a few hours, they loosened up to the point where it became obvious that they offered absolutely no lateral support. Mushy is the best description. They're an oddball boot--nostalgic, but ultimately, obsolete.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Nov 29, 2003]
Kristy
Mountaineer

I am looking for the womans Hawk (400gram) in sixe 8! Can they be found any where? Help me out! THANKS!

Similar Products Used:

My husband wears a similar boot and we would like to find a pair for me.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 25, 2003]
Guy Welch
Day Hiker

I purchased an expensive pair of Danner boots in January of 2002. Wore them daily but they did not stand up. I will never buy another pair of Danner boots. The sole broke and sidewall sewing was coming apart. In addition, the boots made my feet sweat. Obviously, Danner's quality is slipping. Danner's and Scheels, the store where I purchased the shoes, were fair and provided me with reimbursement.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Oct 16, 2001]
Bronson
Day Hiker

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

I have had three pairs of these boots. The first purchsed in 1985. I only used my first pair for camping, which lasted until 1999 when I started using them everyday for work. The second and third pair I wear everyday for work. I am a plumber and although I do not carry a backpack, I would bet I put these boots through more extreme use every day than any hiker. (been there too and I did use the first pair for their intended use) The boots I have now are subjected to all sorts of terrain, water, mud, and weather every day. I have worn out the second pair in just a year and a half, which is great considering the abuse these boots must take. The gore-tex bootie finally gave way along with the soles and I am going to send them in to be rebuilt. (I do not think most other manufactures offer this option) The third pair are going strong. These boots are excellent in every way. I have knee problems and I need a lot of cushion. They are the only boots I have used (I have tried several) that have enough cushion to use without adding inserts. The sole of the shoe is wider than most, which makes for a much greater stability than other boots. The midsoles are strong enough to handle hard pounding on rocks and other things you might jump on or land on to protect the middle of your foot. I like the five inch height of the boot simply because I feel that anything over six inches in height is restrictive. If you have very weak ankles, I would suggest a taller boot which Danner makes. If I could find a better boot, I would buy it. They are also made in the U.S.A. which I find are among the highest quality boots made.

Similar Products Used:

Hi-tech, Herman Survivors, Merrell

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 03, 2001]
Cory Waldron
Backpacker

I purchased these boots about five years ago and was relatively pleased. Ive been on alot of long backpacking trips ranging from the Tetons, Abasoroka Beartooth wilderness area, and numerous ones here in Colorado. The boots are alright for shorter trips ,and I do not recommend them for any long journeys on uneven terrain. I have experienced pain from these boots with the lack of padding and feel they are not cut high enough for a midweight boot. There also has been a little stitching problem Ive had with the back of the boot riping out but easily fixable. I recently resloed these ,and retired them to work boots. I was relatively pleased with the use I got out of them ,but would never purchase another one of there boots for backpacking.

Similar Products Used:

Scarpa the absolute bomb in construction and fit.
Rachile very fist boot every owned and exceptional quality for the price.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 05, 2001]
john calandra
Backpacker

First pair: left toe box 1/2" shorter than other right toe box, causing flexpoint at front of boot to be different. Outdoor World took this pair back, no problem, and promptly put them right back on the shelves, even after I told them Danner Customer Service said this was a defect. Second pair: lip at back of boot, where boot meets achilles tendon, sewed very tightly -- felt like a piece of wire against my ankle, and bruised achilles tendon. Wore these boots outside and Outdoor World took them back (better have after causing me pain). The boots seem well constructed, but are very heavy, and hard Vibram sole is no good on any type of slippery surface. The soles can be replaced easily enough, but if Gore-Tex wears out after 3 yrs or so, what't the point?

Customer Service

Danner Customer Service seemed nice.

Similar Products Used:

Vasque Sundowner -- too bad they moved factory to China, the China made boots are not half the boot the ones made in Italy were.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com