Garmont Dakota Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

Garmont Dakota Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

A classic leather backpacking boot with ADD comfort for the long haul or long weekend treks. Garmont's Trekker outsole provides stability and support. The full leather upper is comfortable and durable for years of faithful service.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Jul 22, 2022]
joeanderson


Strength:

It is proven durable and comfortable. Highly recommended. Joe | Wall texture removal

Weakness:

None none none

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 07, 2022]
Laurence L.


Strength:

These boots are great. It took a few short hikes to break them in and now they are perfect. foundation repair

Weakness:

None so far.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 15, 2010]
Matt
Backpacker

I'm not sure what I can add to what has already been said here. I just wanted to throw my 2 cents into the pool to reaffirm the consensus.

These boots are great! They broke in after about 2 days of wearing around the house. We did Garibaldi Lakes and Black Tusk the weekend after getting them, and they were fantastic. No blisters, no pain.

I bought these for our occasional weekend backpacking trips around Vancouver because I generally carry more of the weight. They're a little heavy-duty for the trails we usually do, but I find the stiffer sole to be wonderful. They're not stiff like a moutaineering boot, but they're stiffer than the general hiker.
Garmont's anatomical fitting system flexes just right for my feet.

Recommendation: Buy them.

Similar Products Used:

Salomon, Lowa, Scarpa

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 16, 2009]
chris151e
Backpacker

I was very impressed with these boots. I bought them for one purpose--my extended (2-3 week) self-supported trek through Japan's Minami Alps every summer. These boots fit very well, were comfortable even during the break in period, and most importantly, provide a very reliable interface between me and my heavy pack and rocky, uneven trails.
On another site I was surprised to read several negative reviews from daily wearers of the boot complaining primarily that the boot wore out too soon. Could be. In my case, I've had mine 4 years, have worn them about "5 months" in total, and they're holding up well though of course showing wear. If they're worn out in four more years, I will still be very satisfied with the performance I have received and will but another pair of the same boot.

Customer Service

no experience

Similar Products Used:

don't recall

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 04, 2004]
Stevo
Backpacker

Now these are really the boots. I don't see any other boot manufacturer who is doing what Garmont is doing right now. I'm very hard to fit, and these boots are not the least bit offensive to my feet. The assymetrical lacing and anatomically directed design seem to allow your foot to roll in it's natural motion. The flex points and padding of the leather seem to be part of this idea. This design is really targeted for all feet in general. Of course if it's too narrow or too wide, that's another issue, but it makes the best of you natural rolling motion and minimizes pressure points and pinch spots. For instance, the boots flex across your toe line, not straight accross. See http://www.garmont.com/tech_outdoors.html for the full description of the ADD system. The bottom line: This is a pair of boots in the upper mid-weight category with semi-mountaineering stiffness, but a tremendous amount of comfort. You can kick ice steps if need be, but won't be sacrificing any comfort either.

Customer Service

I called Garmont and they helped me decide to try this boot based on knowing how their boots fit. They were very helpful - extremely helpful. The customer service is why I now have a good fitting pair of boots after a 3 month search.

Similar Products Used:

Lowa Scout II, Fabiano Mountain Master, Zamberlan Ladak, Scarpa SL M3, Scarpa Rio, Vasque Zephyr

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 09, 2001]
William
Mountaineer

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

these are the gratest boots i''ve ever owned. the main reason i bought them is because the owner was selling them so cheap because the shop was going out of business. Although I would gladly dish out the $200 these boots are retailing for.

Similar Products Used:

La Sportiva Makula

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 2001]
Shaun
Backpacker

These boots are great. It took a few short hikes to break them in and now they are perfect. The ADD is noticibly mroe comfortable and natural as it is meant to fit your foot by anatomical design. After waterprofing these things only leaked when water came in from over the top! I have taken them through snow (Mt. Albert Edward), water (Sayward Lakes), trail (Cape Scott) and a bunch of everything (West Coast Trail) and they have always held up without flaw. It is crucial (as usual) to get a perfect fit for your foot due to the Anatomically Directed Design (ADD). As the little label on the inside of the tongue says "These boots will take you farther then you think." Boy does that ever hold true.

Customer Service

Haven't had to use Garmont customer service, and probably never will. I could just cal lthem to tell them to close down 'cause they make a great boot.

Similar Products Used:

Asolo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 15, 2001]
JGB
Day Hiker

I've owned Dakotas for 6 months. It took about 2 weeks to break them in, I then purchased "superfeet" insoles. I've been living in them since. My best friend bought a pair around the same time. Same result. Both of us could sell these for a living. Had a pair of Soloman adx, Asolo meridian prior. Prefer the Dakota. Best boot I've owned.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com