L.L. Bean Gore-Tex Cresta Hikers Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

L.L. Bean Gore-Tex Cresta Hikers Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

n/a

USER REVIEWS

Showing 11-20 of 54  
[Oct 03, 2007]
Stedronsky
Backpacker

Just finished backpacking 75 miles in Spain over five days with the Crestas. The terrain was varied from rocky paths to some roads. Uphill and down. The boots were worn with liners and a second pair of either medium or medium-heavy socks. The boots were a pleasure to put on in the morning. No blisters, but my feet were tired/sore at the end of each day. I'm going to test some liners to see if they better cushion the feet. The boots saved me from atleast one rolled ankle and I never felt a single rock the entire trip. Look forward to putting them on again.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 08, 2006]
Laurie Sweeney
Backpacker

I have purchased these boots for my whole family. I wore them on a grand canyon hiking trip, and they were awesome. No break in period. Very comfortable. Took a step into water, and the water was lifted out of my foot, and my socks were dry in a very short time. (I was there in December where it dropped below freezing, so this was important.)

So I bought a pair for my husband. He works in the high sierras, doing rigorous outdoor work. He has work boots. He kept wearing the Crestas to work, despite my protests. He wore them until they finally just gave up. So I bought him another pair recently. He has big feet. 13 EE's. So not an easy fit either.

I highly recommend these boots.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 13, 2005]
hikerchap
Backpacker

Well, my review was preemptive. I wore these on a 3-day trip and got horrific abrasion on both heels. Eerily similar to previous review. Anyway, they worked well for me on the flats, but the first time I really did the hills (this trip) they turned out to be not so great. Very disappointing. I went to the Alpine Shop and they gave me tongue depressors and thermo-molded the heels to my feet. I hope it works. These boots run really big so I think I would size very smallish to avoid heel lift (the root of the problem.)

Customer Service

Both Alpine Shop and L.L.Bean were stellar. See previous.

Similar Products Used:

A lot

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 03, 2005]
Bill-99
Day Hiker

After reading the positive reviews here, I bought a pair of these for my wife and for me. For some reason, they seem to not fit my foot correctly in the heel. I worked with the folks on the hotline and followed their suggestions, but after 3 blisters, I returned the product. The odd part is that my wife really likes her boots and they fit her well. Overall, a good looking boot, solid construction, a bit stiff, but not for everyone.

Customer Service

Great people. All customer service should be this good.

Similar Products Used:

Lowa Renegade II mid

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 07, 2005]
hikerchap
Mountaineer

These boots are bonzer. They look smashing-full grain leather, thick vibram sole, creamy gussetted tongue, made in italy (still), what else do ya want. But they seemed pretty clunky and stiff. So I put on liner socks, thick smartwools, and went out and hiked 12 miles on rough terrain. They were perfect. waterproof, not too hot, great protection, not even a hot spot. My feet felt pretty hammererd, but I had also been running a lot. I've worn these to school, work, around, in a flood, no problems. they are just plain great. for what they are, they're also quite cheap.

Customer Service

What can I say. I've another story to add to the annals of L.L. Bean. I ordered these on Dec. 22 or so. L.L.Bean express air-mailed me two pairs, for free. (the shipping, anyway.) when these didn't fit, i ordered another two pair and L.L. Bean overnighted these to me as well, gratis. they were supposed to come for christmas but there was that big winter storm so fedex didn't get em here til after. I didn't care. the point is L.l.Bean overnighted two 10-lb packages for free. waddaya gonna want more than that?

Similar Products Used:

Montrail Excelerace XCR (LEAKED!!!) L.L. Bean mtn treads L.L. Bean Knife edge

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 28, 2003]
langimangi
Backpacker

Top quality product. Got mine brand new the day before Grand Canyon trip -- in other words, no time to break them in. No problem whatsoever. Highest recommendation.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

n/a

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 08, 2003]
Scott Dean
Backpacker

I have fairly messed up, hard to fit feet - narrow heel, extremely high arch, and very wide forefoot. After my boots gave up the ghost I was unable to find a boot that did not hurt. The bootfitters at both of our local outdoor suppliers gave up on me, and recommended I see a pro for custom orthotics. I did, got the orthotics and discovered that most boots would not accommodate them. My frustration level was way too high at this point. I started researching boots and found only good comments about the Cresta, so I figured, "why not?" With my footbeds in they are great. I wore them around the neighborhood for two weeks and then hit the AT. Got into some serious rain the first day out and it was no problem, I could have been wearing drybags on my feet. Two days of ridge walking were a breeze, and the long, steep downhill of the last day was no big deal. My heels never slipped, my toes were never mashed against the boot front, and had wriggle room all the way. A rubber rand to protect the toe would be a great addition to the boot, but for the money I've never had anything close to this good.

Customer Service

I haven't needed them for this boot, but with Bean it is a no brainer - if you don't like it send it back.

Similar Products Used:

Vasque,Merril, Danner, Asolo, Montrail

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 27, 2003]
Cliff
Day Hiker

These are, quite simply, great classic boots like I remember from years ago. Well constructed and a pleasure to wear. Very durable, and a surprisingly painless break-in period. Stable with good ankle support. All that, plus the clearly-superior Italian construction, and the famous LL Bean customer service, mean you can't go wrong.

Customer Service

I'm not easily impressed by customer service these days. Heck, there really isn't much to be impressed about in most cases. LL Bean is as good as they've ever been. They bend over backward to build loyalty by taking anything back at any time, and going out of their way to keep the customer happy. You just can't do any better.

Similar Products Used:

Raichle

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 23, 2003]
cali_bruh
Backpacker

Excellent so far. Very short break in period. Made it to top of Kilimanjaro shortly thereafter. After I summited, I forgot that I was wearing boots that were 3 weeks old. Good warmth at sub-zero temperatures. Wiggle room for toes to keep warm, too. Did not like the shoestrings, so I changed to a more rigid one with better memory. I found the change in shoestring made it easier to get in and out of the boots. When breaking in, I experienced some rub at the heal, possibly due to socks. Problem was quickly resolved. Jury is still out on durability. So far, so good.

Customer Service

Duh. They replaced a cheaper boot with a more expensive one. My timeline was extremely short, so they expressed everything and paid all shipping. Incredible, especially since I was nervous about changing boots at the last moment.

Similar Products Used:

LL Bean Day Hiker Boot

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 18, 2003]
Simva4040
Backpacker

As an ultralightweight hiker wannabee I have tried all options-sandals,hiking tennis shoes,trail runners, lightweight boots of other manufact. but I have come back to the Cresta over and over again. It has never failed, never given me a blister and we do an AT section monthly. I have two pairs, one never out of the box as of yet, just waiting for that sad time when the original pair gets hung on a wall.

Customer Service

Never needed them!

Similar Products Used:

Raichle Monta Rosa Raichle Palu Teva Wraptor The latest Nike ultralight weight boot

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 11-20 of 54  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com