La Sportiva Tibet GTX Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

La Sportiva Tibet GTX Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

n/a

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Jun 25, 2022]
ceceliafredrick


Strength:

The grip has been excelent and the stability of the sole was perfect for climbing without giving up anything for the long flat treks. Suitable to wear while doing pool construction works!

Weakness:

Nothing weakness found

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 15, 2022]
Laurence L.


Strength:

I have never been really good friends with these boots, it went serval months before I stopped getting blisters, and now and then I have had some other problems with my feet, because of the not-so-perfect fit. foundation company near me

Weakness:

None so far.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 02, 2014]
Mark in Oz
Backpacker

I first bought a pair of Gortex La Sportiva Tibet 15 years ago. They remained water proof, solid and supportive for probably 2,000-3,000kms of trekking. Could not fault them. If you are looking for a very reliable, sturdy, water proof boot then won't go wrong with these. They were so good when mine finally needed an upgrade i bought another pair and they didn't change the design at all (they were that good to begin with)!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 06, 2001]
cowtrekker
Backpacker

Strength:

None

This is my first pair of Lasportiva and I got a high expectation. This pair of boots is good looking, great in support and comfort, even when I got a heavy load on my back. I didn''t get blisters at all during my one month trekking trip in Nepal and didn''t twist my ankles. (I twist my ankles easily in other boots or trail shoes.) However, the gluing between the toe box and the rand is really poor. Gaps between the rand and the toe box region appeared after the first time I wore them, just for an easy hike. I brought them back to the mountaineering shop where I bought them and the salesman there said that it is normal and I can glue them with some quick glue. I did it accordingly but the next time I wore them for another easy hike, it happened again. It came worse, that those gaps just extended over the whole rand, when I was trekking in Nepal. I glued them almost every week in the trip since I was afraid that the whole outsole would come apart finally. Another problem is that the waterproofing ability of the boots. They are Goretex lined but they are not working up to as stated, "Guaranteed to keep you dry". I found that my toes and balls were covered by wet socks after hikes under heavy rain or treks on snow-covered trail. Obviously, the water penetrated the toe box. I don''t think I will buy another Lasportiva next time I need a pair of serious boots.

Customer Service

Poor customer service since they don''t encourage you to send them back to the factory of the manufacturer.

Similar Products Used:

Boreal

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 12, 2000]
Lance
Backpacker

I was initially excited about finally fronting the cash for a serious boot. They felt great, especially in the toebox, where most boots pinch my wide feet. I had two problems, however, on my first trip with them:
1. Very hot boot. My feet tend to sweat, but this was ridiculous. Even in the snow. This probably contributed to problem 2...
2. Wore massive blisters on my heels. The heel cup is very rigid, and there is a seam that runs down the interior of the heel. I initially chalked it up to insufficient break in time, but I've worn them on 5 trips(150 miles) since then, and have resorted to taping my feet before hiking. They don't seem to be getting any better.
I will say, however, that they are incredibly durable and have unbelievable traction on all surfaces, wet or dry. If the blister problem ever resolves itself, they will be fantastic. Until then, they work, but they hurt.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 29, 1999]
Steven McDowell
Backpacker

I bought a pair of Tibets at the beginning of this summer. I've worn them eight hours a day since and I don't have a single complaint. Great boot with excellent durability. Good investment for the serious outdoors type.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 1999]
Nathan Friedman
Backpacker

These boots rock! They were comfortable out of the box, and they've been that way since. I went on a 120 mile bakbacking trip 3 months after getting them, and I wa the only person who didn't get blisters. The only problem I might forsee is the durability of the nubuck leather but, mine are at 400 miles and counting, so we'll see.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 12, 1999]
Ladislau
Day Hiker

I have mine Tibets since mid 1995. At first, these boots were exactly what I was looking for a perfect hiking and backpacking boot: Gore-Tex lining, Vibram soles, full leather uppers and good fit. This is a well built boot: nothing ungluing, perfect sews, and not cracks in the leather and sole on 4 years of use (I'm sorry, I have no idea about mileage). But it isn't perfect: Gore-Tex is a thin liner and cannot resist to the abuses of many adventures on rocky, muddy, snowed and dirty places and eventually it opens a hole here or there. Mine has one at the heel (both feet). This is enough to have leaks on it and now Gore-Tex worthies only for the metal plate outside them. The Gore-Tex is a very appealing feature that many consider essential, but be aware: they make you boot cost $50 more and will not last as mush the leather and the sole. Yes, I do recommend this boot because of its reliability (besides waterproofs) and confort, but there are the better values in full leather boots in the market.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 09, 2001]
Chris Dixon
Backpacker

Felt great out of the box, and unlike other reviewers I had no real break in time. My complaint is that after 4 months of constant wear the leather has streched too much, therefore offering reduced support, and it looks like my boots are too big for my feet. I've partially fixed the problem with a thick insole.
Other than this, they've been great, hard wearing, fantastic while trekking in Nepal.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 17, 2001]
W. Dudek
Backpacker

Getting new boots one month before a big trip was a big concern. However, these boots felt great out of the box and ~300 miles later they have exceeded all my expectations. The grip has been excelent and the stability of the sole was perfect for climbing without giving up anything for the long flat treks. I did 13 days in the jungles of South America and althought it was hot and sticky I did not notice any overheating problems with the boots. Basically, when these wear out I will buy a second pair without question.

Customer Service

No problems to report

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com