Lowa Renegade GTX Mid Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

Lowa Renegade GTX Mid Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

A genuine all-terrain, all-weather boot.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 36  
[Aug 30, 2011]
Andy
Day Hiker

Bought Lowa boots after reading some positive reviews. Have worn them 3 times, once in the dry and twice in the wet. On both occasions in the wet the boots leaked like a sieve. This resulted in them being returned to Lowa for tests. After 5 weeks the boots were returned with a can of spray, Lowa's answer was that they were not waterproof but water resistant Ha, what a joke. The customer service was very dismissive of the problem. Basically, we've got your money and stuff you! Will never buy anything from Lowa again!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 08, 2010]
Denise Horgan
Day Hiker

Renegade boots. Soles came off on first day of a 3 day hike in himalayas - I missed the rest of the trek!. Boots were 5-6 years old but had only been worn about 6 times on day hikes. Lowa basically said tough sh**. See part of their response below - explained the construction of the boot and that was it. Am amazed at no customer service at Lowa. Never again will touch their products.

Customer Service

This is not a common occurrence but does happen from time to time on older boots from all manufacturers of all kinds of footwear using PU rubber in the manufacturing process, unfortunately it is not covered by the 24 month warranty set out by LOWA. In the service section of the LOWA website, LOWA does suggest having boots over 6 years old checked out for conditions of material aging.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 10, 2010]
Doug Croft
Day Hiker

Bought the Lowa GTX mid for my wife 5 or 6 years ago. They've spent most of their time in the closet. She's probably put no more than 50 miles of lite hiking on them. When we were in Alaska last week, hiking to the Harding Icefield, the soles of her boots began separating from the shoe to the point that one was flapping and creating quite a tripping hazard. If you wear something out, OK. But when it just plain falls apart. Not so much.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used:

My Asolos are 11 years old with a gazillion miles on them and they are like new.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 05, 2010]
kabriana
Day Hiker

Great boots! I needed some boots with a flexible sole, very good adherence, comfortable and light. I had a strained ankle so now my right foot gets tired easily especially with wrong footwear. But since I have these boots I am much more confident to go hiking on long distances. My foot is well protected and I know i can rely on my boots for the worst case scenarios... i have them for 3 years now and just bought another pair for my husband... I love these boots!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 26, 2010]
davicito
Day Hiker

Don't buy these boots. I bought them six months ago and they are like a soap piece in the presence of the slightest humidity. I have complained to the distributor and fabricant and they do not want to know about it. I have used them only 7 times and I have fell 4 of them, the last one on the norwich fjords, I nearly killed myself. Iam furious, I have spent 105 euros and I can not use the boots.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 31, 2010]
PacNWDave
Backpacker

I was concerned about the price for an extra pair of boots but I have been trying to bridge the gap with just one pair of boots for snowshoeing and then dry/wet weather hiking. My Rockies are warm but lack the support I need for Hiking. My Hi-Techs don't really keep my feet warm and dry in snow. I took these Lowas strait out of the box and put them on and drove to meet my gp, we decided to leave our snow shoes in base camp so the 12 miles we did a couple days ago, I wasn't able to verify with shoes but I don't see any problems there. Warm, plenty of stiffness and support. Hiking, the boots performed GREAT. I thought they would get heavier as I blew right on through small streams along the route because all the rocks I try to use all have green snot on them. We ran into some deep snow towards the top and I looked at the stuff hanging there in the top of the boot against my socks and each tounge and I thought to myself that I should watch that... like I was tempting fate or something but I just brushed it away as best as I could and we returned to camp. When I removed them to change socks, my feet were only slightly damp. Could be me but they seemed to dry completely out that night. They fit great, felt great the entire time. I don't usually try to locate a complaint or review website but I did today because of how much I love these boots.

Similar Products Used:

Hi-Tech, Rocky, Lowa touring

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 22, 2009]
bajsfool
Day Hiker

I use these boots only on rare occasions and I have owned this pair of boots for several years. They fit well, I have a B width foot, and seem to be supportive and do the job. However, I too have experienced the delamination of the sole off of one of the boots. The boots are essentially like new and now they are trash. I have not as yet tried to contact Lowa. I not hopeful that they will do anything, based on the other reviews from owners of these boots who have also experienced delamination of the boot soles. Oh well, I quess I will throw them away and look for another manufacturer of quality narrow fitting boots.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 02, 2009]
rizzo51
Day Hiker

I purchased a pair of what I thought were quality hiking boots. I a couple dozen times and then did not use them for a couple years. I recently put them on for a hike and before I walked 100 yards one of the soles cam completely separated from the boot. On my way back to my home the other sole came off in the same manner. I tried unsuccessfully to get a reply from the company and this is the reason for my letter. LET THE BUYER BEWARE THAT LOWA WILL NOT COVER A MANUFACTURING DEFECT AND DOES NOT RESPOND TO NEGATIVE MAIL

Customer Service

WHAT CUSTOMER SERVICE??!!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 02, 2009]
fbaele
Backpacker

Great mid-weight boot that I wore for several years all over Yosemite. Then one day they began to delaminate, both boots about the same time. I wanted to get them reglued (lots of tread left) or resoled but Lowa doesn't do this and there is no glue available for shoe repair places to do this either (even though I tried). Eventually, I had to throw out my Renegades. For a so called "Green Company", Lowa should make it easier to resole perfectly good boots rather than throw them out.

Customer Service

Friendly enough, just told me they don't resole their Renegades.

Similar Products Used:

North Face, Red Wing, Pivetta

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Dec 29, 2007]
banzai555
Backpacker

I bought these boots in 2005 for my work in wildlife biology. I used them to traverse the burnt areas of the Black Hills, and they held up excellently in the heavy deadfall and rough terrain. They are very light and comfortable, and created few if any blisters. I used these boots for two years without any major problems, but heavy use will definitely take its toll - after two years of great durability and comfort, I took them to Yellowstone for a 6-week job involving 10+ miles of off-trail hiking per day, and I threw them out on the last day. Not bad for being 2 years old, though.

The nubuck isn't nearly as durable as the hard leather, and the Gore-Tex did leak after numerous dips in Yellowstone Lake on the job. The soles also wore out and caused a lot of foot pain, easily remedied by new insoles.

Overall, I really liked this boot - it held up quite well, considering I used it for over 2 years and it held up at least as well as my coworker's $200 Asolos. You're also more likely to find this boot on sale, which makes it an even better deal.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 36  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com