Lowa Scout Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

Lowa Scout Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

All around backpacking boot. Uppers in 2.5mm water repellent Nubuk leather, one piece upper, C4 comfort tongue, climate control system, AWP, lightweight alloy laceloops and lace hooks.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Mar 07, 2022]
olivernicholle


Strength:

They held up well climbing mountains and gave plenty of traction even in some nasty scree and lose dirt. I never felt that I had to worry about my feet in these boots. photo booth Connecticut

Weakness:

None at all.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 22, 2022]
Marie143


Strength:

My feet being blistered and tortured in one of the levels of hell unimaginable to even Dante. With every step I began to accept that no amount of break in would get these boots to fit my feet. Of course when I tried them on and wore them around the store for an hour, and then at home for a few more hours I thought they fit perfectly. https://nycfoundationrepair.com

Weakness:

None so far

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 15, 2021]
Laurence L.


Strength:

I backpack 4-5 times a year. Once I found these boots a few years ago, I was wondering if the full leather lining was what I wanted. After a few hundred miles, I can say they are great. I am on my second pair, the first pair did separate sole from upper, but that is not surprising as they were heavily used. I bought a pair for my son, he wore them for 100 miles in Philmont and still wears them in college as walk-around shoes, that is how comfortable they are. Everyone in my crew wears these boots, and we will be heading back to NM this summer. I ordered a spare pair when they were on sale, as I know at some point they will be discontinued. - milwaukeeroofingguys.com

Weakness:

They are not waterproof. Trekking in snow or in the rain, your socks will feel moisture. However, as there is no fabric inside, they dry very quickly. They also do not need to be broken in as they are soft inside out of the box.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 12, 2005]
ccamp
Backpacker

Construction and Fit. That is what boots are about. The construction of the Scout is excellent. The quality of the materials, the durability and the look are all top notch. Unfortunately this boot did not fit my feet well - a fact I could not admit until I had put over 150 miles of 'break-in' time into them. At times I felt like I had been forced to participate in the Bataan/Lowa Scout Death March. My feet being blistered and tortured in one of the levels of hell unimaginable to even Dante. With every step I began to accept that no amount of break in would get these boots to fit my feet. Of course when I tried them on and wore them around the store for an hour, and then at home for a few more hours I thought they fit perfectly. The trail would prove me wrong and that is one of the more frustrating aspects of boot purchases... Asolo's fit me well in the past and I suppose I will go back to them now. As for the Scout, if you can be certain they fit your feet I believe they will give you years of good use - as they have to other reviewers whose feet have proved a better match.

Customer Service

Not used - did not attempt to return because I'd already used them for more than 1 year.

Similar Products Used:

Asolo 535

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 06, 2004]
Backpacker

One of the best made boots out there. The leather is superbly crafted and the liner is top quality leather. However, these are not comfortable to me in the long run. I give them a 5 for quality, and a 3 for value. I've never had a blister from these, and I've abused them. However, as the previous writers have mentioned, they can be rough on you. These tend to dig terribly into my ankle bone, and for that they're getting replaced.

Customer Service

Don't know.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 30, 2003]
stowy
Backpacker

So I buy my first pair of boots that are Top-Notch 1.5 years ago.. I loved these boots until both shanks started squeeking. Well, apparently now they are ruined. I am calling Lowa to see what they can do for me since this is out of the 1 year warranty period. *********************** This is a follow-up to my review I called Lowa to find that my Monoflex is broken. Apparently I should not be wearing these boots for outdoor yard work because a "squat" flexes the Monoflex 90 degrees which is what cracked it. They told me to buy work boots for that kind of stuff. (Note to self: Do not squat while Camping anymore). Since the boots are out of warranty, they did nothing except offer me $40 off a new Pair of Scout 2 boots. Lowa recommends NikWax only on boots. So, now I have a pair of expensive, squeaky boots. Sigh.

Customer Service

I feel I was lied to by the dealer (Nevin at Diamond Brand) because he said this was the last pair of boots I would ever buy (other than replacing soles once in a while)

Similar Products Used:

My wife has a pair of Skarpa's they were bought the same day and they are still kicking..

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Mar 18, 2002]
John Viselli
Backpacker

These boots rock! I bought the 2001 model now replaced by the ScoutII on Clearance. I wanted a lighter pair of boots than my Moraine ATs for Rough trail use, but carrying less than the 60lbs I usually carry with the ATs. These fit the bill just great. They are finely made German boots, leather lined, with nice leather and Vibram soles. These boots required very little breakin time and the leather lining is very comfortable. German boots tend to be higher volume than most Italian boots. I got my best fit with superfeet inserts and a bulky sock like Smartwool Expedition Trekkers. If you can find the old model on clearance, you will be fortunate indeed. German boots tend to have little padding, so make sure you get a good fit and a proper flex point. I do recommend a good insert. Toe room is usually a little better than Italian boots if you have a wider foot.

Customer Service

The people at Travel Country Outdoors were excellent. I did not need Customer Service, but they followed up after the sale to see how I liked my boots. I would definitely buy there again.

Similar Products Used:

Montrail, Scarpa, Meindel

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 23, 2002]
Rich M
Backpacker

These are great boots. Comfortable right out of the box. Unfortunately they are no longer offered by Lowa. I got mine on closeout. Great boot and great price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 24, 2001]
Clark
Backpacker

These boots are amazing! I got them to go on my Outward Bound Trip and they worked fantastic. I gave them minimum break in and I got only one blister all 18 days that we were backpacking with 60+ pound packs. They held up well climbing mountains and gave plenty of traction even in some nasty scree and lose dirt. I never felt that I had to worry about my feet in these boots. When other people in my patrol were getting blisters I wasn't thinking about my feet and only about my surroundings, and how great eastern Utah is. The leather lining is great and really molds to your foot well. I would reccomend these boots to anybody looking for a comfortable pair of backpacking boots.

Similar Products Used:

Montrail, Scarpa, Technica, Asolo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2001]
Brian
Backpacker

These are serious, heavy boots intended for multi-day backpacking trips. The break-in period wasn't bad after I replaced the footbeds with some Superfeet. Even with the Superfeet footbeds ($30 at REI), these boots still don't have much cushion to them. My toes start going numb after about 3 miles from pressure on the balls of my feet. I'm thinking of giving up on these and going with something like Lowa's Tempest Lo's.

I do like that they handle moisture well (they breathe well), and to me they seem like they're well made. I just wish they had some cushion.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com