Merrell Chameleon Ventilator Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

Merrell Chameleon Ventilator Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

Traditional hiking boot support combined with athletic construction makes these boots ideal for fast and active outdoor pursuits. Vibram(R) Octogrip rubber outsoles are highly durable and provide excellent traction. Uppers have highly breathable Airflow Mesh lining in side panels and tongue.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Oct 25, 2021]
ceceliafredrick


Strength:

They worked much better than i expected. although the low cut version obviously doesnt have the ankle support needed for longer technical trips they are most definitly worthy of weekend trips. i love this boot and will shop with merrell in the future. Remodeling Tacoma

Weakness:

None so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 12, 2021]
Kiyumi22


Strength:

The first time I wore these i was extremly impressed. They have an awsome feel and even better functionality. | kitchenremodelhawaii.com

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 30, 2021]
joeanderson


Strength:

Breathable, durable, and not too heavy. Perfect for long trekking. Greetings from all of us at www.pasadenaconcretepros.com

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 07, 2021]
Madmardigan


Strength:

They are excellent for outdoor activity such as day hiking, moderate backpacking, climbing. -- Albuquerque Tile Installation

Weakness:

none so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[May 06, 2010]
Joe
Day Hiker

now that merrell has been bought out buy wolverine the quality has gone south the store were I buy my merrells got a whole shipment of faulty shoes the left shoes toe box was deformed

Customer Service

the place I bought my merrels was great had to order new shoe because of merrell defects

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 03, 2003]
nixstyx
Backpacker

this review is for the low cut version. i was extreemly lucky to find these wonderful shoes at such an unbelievably great price. my new motto: never buy ANYTHING for full price, first look on the internet! anyway, i origonally bought these to satisfy my day-hiking trips. i already owned a nice pair of Asolo backpacking boots but was looking for somthing a little lighter and more comfortable for short hikes. The first time i wore these i was extremly impressed. they have an awsome feel and even better functunality. After my first couple day hikes i decided to try them out as a backpacking boot. they worked much better than i expected. although the low cut version obviously doesnt have the ankle support needed for longer technical trips they are most definitly worthy of weekend trips. i love this boot and will shop with merrell in the future

Customer Service

was shipped on time, other than that i have no experience with customer service

Similar Products Used:

Asolo FSN 90

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 10, 2003]
Stacy
Day Hiker

This is for the LOW version of the Chameleon Ventilator. I have currently worn out my first pair and am on my way to the store for a second pair. The low version is perfect for those of us who, for whatever reason, hate ankle-covering boots. I have strong enough ankles to forgo the discomfort of high boots. It's hard to find supportive hiking shoes, and these are the best I've come across. I've hiked many mountains in these shoes. The sticky tread is great, and the sole is unbeatable - thick and supportive enough to make it across many a rocky terrain. Merrells fit my feet better than other brands (i.e. Salomons are way too narrow for my feet), so I was pleased with the fit. As I said, I LOVE these shoes, and use them for hiking Colorado's 14,000+ feet mountains as well as in-city trekking.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 04, 2003]
STW
Mountaineer

Note: I am reviewing the low-cut version here. Not a bad shoe, but I'm not really very happy with mine. The competition is fierce in this category! The Merrel Chameleon Ventilator Lo is essentially a high-tech sneaker designed for light hiking, scrambling, approaches, and (of course) for cutting an outdoorsy figure while around town - which is probably where these shoes will spend most of their time... My first problem with these was the fit. I just never got a perfect fit from these. I can't really count that against them, because I'm hard to fit in general. I'm either a size 8 or an 8.5. In these, the 8 was a bit too small, the 8.5 a bit too large. For other people, this won't be a problem. Second gripe: the weight and feel was a bit bulky in my opinion. The midsole was also a bit stiffer than many other shoes in this category. However, this made the shoe a bit of conundrum for me. It was stiffer and bulkier than other approach shoes - which meant it was less comfy and nimble; but, it was not stiff or supportive enough to be worn for serious hiking with a heavier pack. Neither fish nor fowl. Traction was good but not great in all conditions. It has an interesting sculpted vibram soft rubber sole with a dot-tread pattern. It excelled in hard, dry condition and rocky terrain. But on flat surfaces the dots made me feel like I was walking on ball bearings just a little bit. And, on wet sloppy trails, the dots weren't deep enough and were too numerous to provide any real grip. Overall, I'd place these shoes in the middle of the field of those I've tried. I'd recommend the Lowa Vento or the La Sportiva Exum Ridge over these for starts. I even like the Merrel Baja Ventilator better than these Chameleons.

Customer Service

can't comment

Similar Products Used:

Lowa Vento II (excellent!), Merrel Baja Ventilator (decent), La Sportiva Exum Ridge (excellent), Montrail Vitesse (good), Salomon Exit (decent)

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 22, 2002]
tpsands
Backpacker

I bought the LOW version. They are extremely comfortable and not intended for heavy backpacking. They are not waterproof either. They are excellent for outdoor activity such as day hiking, moderate backpacking, climbing. I have even used them for playing football. The ultimate in traction.

Customer Service

No experience

Similar Products Used:

Sorrel leather hiking boots

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 03, 2001]
big joe
Backpacker

Cheaply made.No ankle support.Water leak.Not a good boot.Sad to see a decent company turn out a boot so ill-conceived.They were very "mushy" right from the start.Ran them through the rough stuff and they faultered.I even got a nasty blister.I would like to take them back,but it was a final sale.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com