REI Monarch Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

REI Monarch Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

n/a

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Jul 05, 2022]
ampva302


Strength:

My co-workers and I from https://www.roofbaltimore will rate this 5 out of 5 because of the designs and the materials were excellent.

Weakness:

The only problem with this product is the weight, It weights 2.5lb for the size 9, and it's very heavy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 22, 2022]
Marie143


Strength:

I have a pair of the Monarch high tops as well and though they have aged well otherwise, the tread has the same issue. All in all not a bad shoe/boot, but the sole isn't as durable as a Salomon Contagrip or Vibram, which go for years, not months before they wear out. Drywall Contractor Atlanta GA

Weakness:

None so far.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 10, 2022]
joeanderson


Strength:

They are the most comfortable boot I ever had. The support of the uppers is very good. I used it every day in my work in Landscaping company. It's perfect!

Weakness:

None at all

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 15, 2021]
Laurence L.


Strength:

I have a job that frequently takes me outside. I wear these boots to work every day and hiking a few times a week. In short: every day and all day. I won't wear anything else! Highly recommended by pittsburghroofingguys.com

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 11, 2006]
garebones
Backpacker

I replaced these boots (with Gore-tex) after wearing Vasque Sundowners for a couple of years. Suprisingly, for the cost, these are great boots. No break-in necessary. I hike in Alaska about 150 miles each Summer and these boots did well for me. On steep up and downhill grades, the soles stuck to all soils and rocks and they kept my toes away from the end of the boot on downhill slopes. The Gore-tex, well, it's Gore-tex--no wet feet. So far, they are a great buy.

Customer Service

Hey, it's REI, they're the best

Similar Products Used:

Vasque Sundowner, Raichle

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 30, 2004]
sweetdaddy
Mountaineer

This review is for a pair of the Monarch II lows. The shoe itself is comfortable and gives fairly good support. Sizing is neither large or small but dead on for my sz 9 feet. Upper is rugged and double stitched in most areas. Sole grips wet and dry rock well, but a bit on the soft side as chunks of the small tread lugs toward the front are already starting to braek off, after only a couple of months. I have a pair of the Monarch high tops as well and though they have aged well otherwise, the tread has the same issue. All in all not a bad shoe/boot, but the sole isn't as durable as a Salomon Contagrip or Vibram, which go for years, not months before they wear out.

Similar Products Used:

Salomon Exit Lo Scarpa Super Manta

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 18, 2003]
jblooo
Day Hiker

I bought the GTX leather for dayhiking in rough terrian. I bought them a couple months early to break them in. No need. They felt like tennis shoes out of the box, yet provided support and protection. Only problem, after relativly short mileage over 2 years the midsole began to show. REI offered to replace or refund; I took the replace without question. The new soles seem to be modified.

Customer Service

A refund/replace after 2 years without question? Need I say more.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 08, 2002]
bizz1541
Backpacker

These boots have been fantastic. Completely waterproof, outstanding traction on the trail, street, and even icy snow. I have had them 1 year, and they are the most comfortable boot I ever had. Damn good boot for a weekend hike with a 60 lb pack. Lots of support.

Customer Service

Dude knew his stuff. I even tried a $200 boot, but was not as comfortable. He recommended I go with this boot. I would shop at REI just for the knowledge and customer service. Way to go!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 06, 2002]
david_r
Day Hiker

I'm sorry but you cannot review the Monarch and Monarch WP in the same spot. The Monarch has a pathetic sole. I have less than 50 miles and 2 months on mine and they are all torn up. It might be my weight except my 150 lb co-worker has the same boots, bought nearly the same time that he uses for his daily wear shoes and they look like slippers on the bottom after about 2 months of use. I knew the soles were soft when I bought them but hoped that they would work well on wet granite. Nope, just as slickery as a run of the mill Vibram sole. However, the waterproof version have a different sole (Vibram) that seems as durable as other boots. Too bad the toe box isn't as roomy in the WP ones.

Customer Service

It's REI. They rule. They wanted to take them back but I couldn't find a pair that is as comfortable.

Similar Products Used:

Vans Doc Martens Merrell

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 29, 2001]
stevenarbo
Day Hiker

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

I got the GoreTex version of these boots for $90. I really like them compared to my old leather boots. They have good sole, but the traction is not the best. The support of the uppers is very good, although they are a little wider than they need to be at the toe. Overall, I like these better than other day hiking boots I have purchased.

Similar Products Used:

LL Bean, Timberland

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com