Vasque Legend Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

Vasque Legend Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

n/a

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Feb 22, 2022]
Kiyumi22


Strength:

One thing mentionable is that the boot has a very short break in time, compared to other boots of this weight/build. view here

Weakness:

None so far.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jan 04, 2022]
ceceliafredrick


Strength:

My friend referred this to me and I love it. This is highly recommended by Building Decks

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 15, 2021]
Laurence L.


Strength:

time-tested hiking and backpacking boots feature plenty of leather, good foot and ankle protection, Gore-Tex waterproofing, Vibram outsoles, and moderately stiff builds that support moderate to heavy packs.

Weakness:

None so far. dumpster ga

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jan 28, 2009]
andy
Backpacker

these are what hiking boots should be. I got mine 7yrs ago, and in these 7 years ive done everything in these boots. I hike/back-pack in them, climbed in them (easier routes), do sloppy winter mountain biking with them, use them for work pretty often, mowed alot of grass in em', dig in my garden in them, and drank alot of beer while wearing them. By the looks of these boots i probably have another 7+ yrs left in them. I believe companies stopped making waffle stompers because they are too good. Why make a $200.00 boot that will last for 20yrs, when you can make a200.00 glued together boot that will have to be replaced in 2-3yrs?

Customer Service

never had to use it

Similar Products Used:

I just got a pair of Alico Tahoe's (norweigan welt) to replace these if/when they wear out.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 24, 2001]
Dave Drorbaugh
Backpacker

I purchased my Legends over two years and a couple hundred miles ago and have absolutely loved them! I broke mine in by doing a 10 mile roundtrip(approx.) overnighter up Lone Peak near Snowbird, UT. Suicidal? Hardly. I was amazed that after two days of walking up 45-60 degree slopes, at times with at 40 lb.(no I wasn't going minimalist on this one:-) pack on I hadn't got a single blister! Granted I was wearing a pair of liner socks under some rag-wool hiker socks, but still, to take an all-leather boot virtually out of the box and put 10 climbing miles on them without a blister is a marvel to me. On a subsequent week-long, 50-miler in Utah's Uintah mountains I finally got one pea-sized blister on my right pinky toe on the fourth day out. On the other hand my companions, one in Montrails and the other with his Vasque Sundowners, were walking moleskin advertisements.

These boots are talus-stompin' monsters. I've traversed 30-40 degree talus slopes with a full pack on and due to their stiff leather uppers, sturdy Vibram sole and 3/4-length ribbed steel shank, I've always been able to tromp my way across while everyone else picked their way across. As a result, the leather is pretty scratched up, but the boot is still in great shape, with at least another 300 miles left on the sole! In contrast, my best friend/hiking partner's Vasque Sundowners(which have made all of the same trips as my Legends) are just about dead. Suede and nylon will never replace cowhide!

On the down side: Lack of a Gore-Tex or equiv. lining makes their waterproofness somewhat questionable if hiking in spring snowpack or along/in canyon stream beds. I've tried Sno-Seal, Vasque's Naturseal and Nik-Wax all with varying results. The boots have a waxed finish when new that kept the Nik-Wax from soaking in. Now that the leather's been fuzzed up a bit it penetrates just fine.

Customer Service

Redwing Shoes, Vasque's owner, will service the shoes for life with complimentary waterproofing, lace and eyelet replacement, and re-stitching as necessary. Great support for a great product!

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 23, 2001]
Jim
Backpacker

Great boots. Look at the rating of any full leather Vasque and you can see that they are a sure bet.

Customer Service

No need for customer service after owning three pairs in the last 15 years.

Similar Products Used:

Merrel and Danner
The Merrel boots weren't in the same comfort category and the Danners were comfy but too heavy.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 12, 2001]
Big Ed
Backpacker

Well, I like the Legend myself. Wish Vasque still made it. It has soles that wear like iron and don't peel off after a year like some other boots I have owned.

Customer Service

Never needed

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 05, 2001]
Will Beyer
Backpacker

A great boot. Italian manufacture, calfskin lining, Norwegian welt and great ankle protection and stabilization. Broke in easily, love the traction of the Vibram sole and separate heel when I'm descending a loose, rocky slope. This is the boot that Vasque should have stuck with instead of the Chinese fabric-and-leather fly-by-night stuff!

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 25, 2000]
Jim
Backpacker

Ive wanted boots like these for a long time, since my first Pair of Lowa Scouts in the 70's($39.95 at that time). They are a great traditional boot, heavy built and resolable. I love them. After wearing them for a month, they are starting to feel like mine. These boots retail at $250, but are discontinued and available at the red wing store in co. by mail.(for $105.00) Just search for 'vasque" and youll find the website. A great pair of boots!! Worth the price at retail.

Customer Service

They mailed my shoes before my check had even cleared.

Similar Products Used:

lowa scout(old model) great, heavy
light merrills, OK
misc. hitecs OK

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 11, 2000]
Brown Robertson
Backpacker

What a sweet boot! I've had no problems at all with my Vasque Legend's. One thing mentionable is that the boot has a very short break in time, compared to other boots of this weight/build. Extremely comfortable, and resilient. Ascended a 13,500 ft summit in the Rockies with them after having just purchased them a couple months before, and they performed admirably. It's a tough all around boot, and would serve day hikers to hardcore backpackers just as well IMHO. However, just like any boot, I would recommend someone to go try them on at the store and walk around with them, up stairs, etc... to make sure it fits your foot. Vasque products have always fit my foot perfectly, but I know several people who don't fit these boots very well.

Similar Products Used:

Various boots, some of mention:
Vasque Sundowner's
Merrel Moraine AT

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com