Vasque Sundowner Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

Vasque Sundowner Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

n/a

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 168  
[Jul 01, 2022]
ampva302


Strength:

This product very impressive, These shoes are very comfortable, and it only weights 3 lbs. 6oz. By the way, if you guys looking for a drywall contractor, just visit us at www.owensborodrywall.com

Weakness:

no problem at all

OVERALL
RATING
4
[Feb 22, 2022]
Laurence L.


Strength:

The rand near the toe started separating on both boots, letting sand and gravel seep in. Finally after another season, the sole completely separated from one boot while I was on a trip and far from the trailhead. Home Roofing Services Fort Worth, TX

Weakness:

None so far.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 16, 2011]
GDM
Day Hiker

I purchased my Vasque Sundowners when I finished University in 1990. At the time I believe I paid over $300 for my (likely) Italian version of the boots. I have used them mainly as Winter Boots and the occasional Hike in the summer. I have had a little work done on the inside of the boots, but otherwise can't imagine that I will ever own a pair of footware as comfortable and as durable as these. Even paying the Italian manufactured price of 20 years ago which would be more than $400, I can only imagine how many pairs of other boots I would have worn out (or more likely broken down) of any other type. They have a classic look they have lots of leather and they would be considered a great "green" value. I can see why they make them in China. They clearly can make them cheaper and they likely will get more repeat business even if they aren't made quite as well as those made by Italian craftsmen. What I mean is that even if they only last ten years versus my 20 plus they are still a great value.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 13, 2011]
John
Day Hiker

I got these shoes many years ago, so long that I have forgotten. I have the old Italian ones. They have been with me for many miles of great hiking. I did take them into the desert outside Tucson and that heat made the soles start to let go. They were old by then but I love them so much I sent them in (my expense...they were really worn afterall) and had new soles installed. That was nearly ten years back and I still wear them. I have other newer boots I use for serious hiking but somehow I still love the comfort and fit of my Sundowner's and I take good care of them, wanting them to last ten more years! I wear them almost every day walking my dogs in the woods and for some light trail walking.
Nothing else has ever felt as well to me. I can not speak for the new Chinese ones as I have not tried them. I sure love my old ones. Like an old, dear friend. I have now and have used other great hiking shoes. These are light to medium duty hiking shoes in my mind and they excel at that usage.

Customer Service

Never had to deal with them so I can not comment.

Similar Products Used:

I have or have had an assortment of other hiking shoes including Montrail and Merrell, both fine shoes.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 05, 2011]
hart
Backpacker

good boots, but my soles fractured and fell off after a few years. Nowhere near as long as other reviewers claim. It appears vasque customer service no longer replaces damaged soles, instead they contract out to a regional repair service paid for by the customer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 22, 2010]
Al
Backpacker

I've had the China boots for 4 years - best boots I've ever had and I plan on buying another pair. They look great, feel great, and are great all purpose boots. I wear them everyday.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 20, 2010]
jason walters
Skier

These boots are no longer made in Italy and are now made in china. I have had 2 pairs the first pair (made in Italy) I had for about 3 years until a dog chewed them apart they were great. The second pair (made in china) I have had for 5 years now. They have been great except one of them is no longer waterproof and leaks. Other than that the quality and construction seem to be the same.

Customer Service

about to find out.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 06, 2010]
jfoster49
Backpacker

Don't buy these boots if you plan to hike in hot weathet. I bought my second pair of sundowners several years ago, then moved frome Northern Cal to San Diego, where I live and hike in Eastern San Diego County. By the third hike the soles atarted to peel of and by the fifth, the sole on one came off completely, the other half way. Obviously not cut out for the heat, but a $200 boot? I've recomended these ovewr the years to many because the fit is so good. So I sent them back (with new soles, peeled off), and they sent them back to me, just as I'd sent them - unusable. Ill never buy another pair of Vasques.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 04, 2010]
Carlos
Backpacker

I had my Vasque Sundowners for close to 10 years. They've been everywhere with me - Borneo, Kili, NZ, Denali, Amazon, to name a few. And, these boots have held up through the years of abuse. On my last trip to Northern Canada, the sole on the left boot peeled off. I had to duct tape the sucker for the remaining few days. I sent Vasque a nice letter, asking them to replace the pair and they did. So, I think both the quality of the boots and customer service is top notch.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 04, 2009]
ffacefishf
Backpacker

Just sorry! They wreck my feet and the longer I've had them, the worse they get. After 3 years of missery, I'm buying from Cabelas. They offer real quality and stand behind their products 100%. Dealing with Vasque customer service is a joke.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 168  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com