Zamberlan Civetta Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

Zamberlan Civetta Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

n/a

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 36  
[May 09, 2011]
Jac Larsen
Backpacker

These are hands down the best hiking/backpacking boot on the market. True they can take quite a while to break in but once they are they're super comfortable. I've had these boots for 10yrs and wore them in all types of conditions heat, snow, and rain. They are very waterproof, I wore these boots for 10 days straight in Padasjoki, Finland in the summer of 2004, which was very wet, and my feet never got wet. These are my favorite boots (even over my Danner's!) and after 10yrs of abuse they are still in great shape. The cost of Zamberlan's is worth it.

Similar Products Used:

Danner, Sorel, Keen, Hi-Tec

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 09, 2007]
Mike
Day Hiker

I've had my Civetta II's for about 6 years now. I've used them for everything from working around the yard to multi-day camping trips. They've seen rain, mud, dirt, rock, snow, ice, sand and most things inbetween. After 6 years I am seeing where the sole on one boot is starting to peel away from the boot in the area of the instep but I've glued it and all-in-all it seems to be holding up well. I agree with others about an odd fitment at first but with the addition of superfeet inserts they feel great.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 09, 2003]
JamesS
Backpacker

I've had my Civetta II's for about two years now. I've used them on extended trips into the Great Bear Wilderness Area, the Bob Marshall, the Mallard Larkins, and the Cabinets. I use them for scramble climbs, overnighters, day hikes. They fit my feet perfectly and have only caused blisters on one occasion (my fault - hiking in the rain without rain pants). They required little breakin as I recall. Essentially I wore em out of the store and started hiking. I think the hills we have in Washington/Idaho/Montana equal anything Palo Alto CA has to offer and these boots show no real wear other than cosmetic stuff after a couple thousand miles. I'd buy them again if REI still carried them.

Customer Service

Never had to use. I take proper care of my boots and they keep on ticking.

Similar Products Used:

Vasque, Asolo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 25, 2002]
Ian Morrison
Day Hiker

Have a look at these if like me you are hard to fit - e.g. high insteps, broad feet. (I see a previous reviewer mentioned this.) These boots tak a while to break in but are worth the trouble. Very comfortable, durable, tough and dry. I've neglected mine so there is some cracking of the leather - but I'm going to buy another pair and really look after them, they're sure worth it. The Civettas on sale in Europe are somewhat different from the US model (more rubber on the sides) but generally the same build, from what I can see. The price quoted above is typical UK, about £130.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 12, 2002]
Hugh Stimson
Backpacker

I have just finished wearing a pair of these boots into the ground, and still have all good things to say about them. As with absolutley any boot, the number one factor determining wether you will like them or not is wether or not they fit your feet. Everybody has different feet, every manufacture uses a different last. Therefore other people's comfort recomendations are pretty much useless. As far as quality of construcition: my biggest worry when I bought them was all the wacky stitching in behind the heel. As it turns out, it's never broken a stitch there. Instead the leather has worn down and cracked at the point where the boot bends with my toe. This is largely my fault - I hardly ever maintained them. These boots walked many, many, many miles with me and I never had any complaints. I reccomend them, if you can still find them. The Civetta IIs are a large, more aggressive boot and I can't speak to them.

Similar Products Used:

Vasque Escapes

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 17, 2002]
WStan
Day Hiker

Zamberlan Civetta II Gore-Tex I bought these Zamberlans because I have pretty hard-to-fit feet, with a wide forefoot. Out of all of the currently available mid-weight backpacking boots I could find locally, these were the only ones that fit moderately well and seemed reasonably sturdy. I originally had a pair of ASOLO AFX 520 non-Gore-Tex boots that were a bit too big (marked an 11 but were actually a 12 - I thought I could get by with an extra insole, but unfortunately couldn't), but were as waterproof as any Gore-Tex boot and far more breathable. I also had a pair of $69 Cabela's Gore-Tex day hikers that were very comfortable for the first 18 months, but proved they had inadequate support for serious hiking up mountains when I took them to Vermont last year. I tried a pair of REI/Raichle Spirit II GTX Gore-Tex hikers that were great looking in olive leather with navy trim, but were too narrow. I also tried a pair of Dunham/New Balance Trail Triumph backpacking boots, which were comfortable as sneakers but did not have as much support and seemed like they would fall apart (if the very soft soles did not wear down smooth) after a year of moderate use. The first pair of Civetta II's originally did not fit well in the heel, especially with Superfeet insoles, as they kept slipping and were too wide, but I tried a second pair at a second REI store and they were a bit better, so I thought, maybe they are sufficiently hand-made that they will have an individualized fit for each pair. It was a good idea, as the third pair fit much better than the the first two. If you like these but the fit isn't quite right, I'd try another pair in the same size. I've only used these boots on day hikes (six two-four hour hikes on flat terrain, one three hour hike up hilly terrain, two five hour hikes in mountainous terrain), but they are very comfortable, secure and sturdy and aren't noticeably heavier than day hikers (although they clearly weigh a lot more and are much more supportive). I just got back from a trip to Vermont and after two half day hikes in the Green Mountains, can attest that they do a great job. In particular, I like the Vibram Bifida soles, which have an aggressive tread with several large round spikes and a durable, but semi-tacky rubber that grabs and grips terrifically, whether on ice or on wet rocks.

Similar Products Used:

Asolo AFX520, REI/Raichle Spirit II Gore-Tex, Dunham/New Balance Trail Triumph

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 26, 2002]
Harold A Baker Jr
Day Hiker

Owned and hiked quite extensively in Europe; Bavarian Alps covering hundreds of miles, the Italian Dolimites, Apalachian trails here in America, etc with no real problems. True, I also incurred some blistering on the heel. But, that was my on stupidity! Should have used some type of band aid type tape on my right heel. Other than that, great support, assume traction and totally waterproof. Much better boot than previously owned Vasque Clarion Impact.

Customer Service

No issue so far!

Similar Products Used:

Vasque Clarion Impact-Sucks Big Time!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 07, 2001]
Stan Savage
Day Hiker

Very interesting reading the other reviews for this boot.
I bought them last summer. I have narrow volume, hard to fit feet. I tried on a half a dozen boots and wore these about 45 minutes in the store before I purchased them. The fit the best in the store.
They definitely take time to break in. I have soft feet and tend to blister in the heel in stiff boots. I seldom blister now, wearing smart wool with liners. Occasionally my feet do still feel beat up after a long hike. My usual use is dayhiking.
The footbed, as others have said, is useless. It began working its way up the back of the boot so I replaced it with Superfeet.
The traction and stability of the boot is excellent, wet or dry, in rock, dirt, mud or gravel.
The one problem I have, which may be unique to me, is that my small toe on the right foot will rub against the boot wall. Not enough to blister, but enough to worry me about trying to use these boots for extended hiking. The Superfeet helped (higher arch pulling my flat feet away from the side of the boot?).
I think I will experiment with lighter Garmonts, since they have a very full toe box.

Customer Service

none

Similar Products Used:

The original pair of Gortex Vasque fabic boots (awesome). Garmont and La Sportiva boots that were really too stiff and heavy duty for my hiking.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 30, 2001]
Todd
Day Hiker

I have to agree with the last reviewer on the point of breaking boots in. Very few hikers are ready to go, right out of the box. These are no exception, and I'm wearing mine around town right now in efforts to prepare them for longer sojourns on the trail. Yup, I got them for $59.33 at REI's garage sale because the guy that bought them brought them back after one use. His reason? "Didn't like the fit." Which means either he didn't try them on before buying them (dumb) or he didn't realize the time and effort needed to break them in (ignorant). In either case, I scored. I have an average width foot, the Zamerberlans give me plenty of room to move the piggies, while seating my heel firmly. The new Civettas have both Gore Tex and the protective rand on the boot's front, both features that really work on the trail. This is a fairly meaty pair of hoofs, and the quality of contruction is outstanding.

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used:

Vasque Sundowner (ten years old and going strong), Merrell Wildnerness, Asolo AFX530, Trezeta, The North Face

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 10, 2001]
Todd
Climber

Anyone who gets blisters in these is an idiot for not knowing how to properly fit a boot. These seem to be designed for people who need a wide toebox and a narrow heel. Took about a weeks worth of long day hikes to break in. I replace the footbed immediately, which I do with all my boots out of practice after about a dozen years of backpacking long trails. I have had mine for two years now, and have hiked mostly in New England, and have very few problems. I broke mine in properly, after getting them fitted properly, and have never had any problems with them. Spent most of last summer summiting the high peaks in the Adirondaks, and only had a few hot spots, never any blisters.

Customer Service

Never had to deal with Customer Service with this company--these are just well made boots.
I'm a little concerned with the amount of pencil pushers that have no clue how to fit a boot or keep their bodies in shape and then feel that it is the boots fault that they get blisters. Hot spots don't have to become blisters if you know how to adjust your boots properly and fix your feet. IF you don't know how to do this, YOU SHOULDN'T GO PLAY IN THE WOODS!!

Similar Products Used:

Have hiked Vasques almost exclusively for ten years, but got pissed off with their customer relations people after some problems with a pair of poor made clarions. They are still good boots, I just got a bad pair.
If you don't wear boots in the store for at least an hour, you are making a snap decision about how the boots feel.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 36  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com