Feathered Friends Swallow Sleeping Bags

Swallow

+20 F

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Sushma   [Jan 19, 2018]
Pros: Excellent light weight sleeping bag
Cons: -
Price: -   New/Used: New   Year Purchased: -
OVERALL
RATING
3
Sung Nicholas   Backpacker [Jun 03, 2000]

I bought this bag because I was looking primarily for 2 things: compressibility and durability. I wanted a bag that will last me for years and years. This bag is expensive, but if you take into account how long it will last you, it is better to buy a top quality bag that will last years and provide comfort than settle for a cheaper bag to save a few bucks that you'll just have to replace later on (and cost you more money). Mine has overfill and is rated to 10 degrees but still compresses to the size of a loaf of bread. And at just over 2 lbs, it'll be one of the lightest things in your pack. The only complaint I have is that the zipper only comes down halfway so if your feet tend to get hot, you can't really stick them outside the bag. But this was done to reduce the weight of the bag. Overall, I would highly recommend this bag and this company if you are looking for the best sleeping bags, bar none.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris Fitzpatrick   Backpacker [May 03, 2000]

Re: Feathered Friends' Customer Service. This is a follow up to a review I posted here. I had a problem with the FF Swallow bag. FF's Customer Service dept responded immediately and worked hard to solve the problem. I was satisfied with the result.

Customer Service

See above. My ratings here are for the Customer Service department.

Similar Products Used: Mountain Hardware Tioga, TNF Superlight and Lightrider, and Western Mountaineering Apache.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris Fitzpatrick   Backpacker [Feb 23, 2000]

Just got a FF Swallow from the FF web site's sale page. Have used it once. Great materials and construction. Has 800 fill power down and just a little overfill, so it weighs in a 2 lbs 2 oz (rather than the standard 31 oz). Plan to use it for high altitude backpacking, where weight, warmth, and compressibility are crucial. It looked to be the best and lightest 20 degree bag I could find. So far, it looks as if it is. Paid $240 on sale, instead of the $270 standard price (for 700 fill power version). Puffs up like the ol' blowfish.

Similar Products Used: Mountain Hardware Tioga, TNF Lightriders (reviews submitted).
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Phil Rainwater   Backpacker [Feb 11, 2000]

This bag has an excellant cut/fit for such a light weight sleeping bag. Total weight is 2lb.1oz. which I have verified myself. The loft is 5+ inches of high quality down. Most bags in this weight range are so constricting fit wise they can become uncomfortable to me. While not being overly large, ther is more room in knee and leg area which I like. Quality of construction is amoung the finist availible. I have used several Feathered Friends bags over the years and am happy with attention to detail and service.

Customer Service

They have been prompt and professional when I've needed their help.

Similar Products Used: Western Mountaineering, Sierra Designs, Camp 7,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Adam Meyer   Backpacker [Feb 09, 2000]

Bought this bag on auction at $150 and it's likely one of the best investments I've made. Totally lightweight, stuffs easily and lofts like a dream (at least 5 inches). Have slept in it several times at 10 degrees below the rating, and never got cold. The seams are well done, and the down is shiftable, so if you get hot, just move it down. I would, however, add a better zipper stiffener - mine got snagged several times, and that's a pain to do in the middle of a really cold night! Other than that - great bag! Watch the auction houses for deals, it's pretty expensive retail.

Customer Service

I emailed FF several times before purchasing, and they always got back with me within 24hrs and answered my questions completely and honestly. I would buy from them again.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Frank Wacker   Backpacker [Feb 01, 2000]

Feathered Friends Swallow

I am a professional field tester and I have never ever had a better lightweight down bag. It's the perfect combination of light weight and durabiltiy. Design and craftmanship are the best in the world as well as the materials. Check other bags for tuck stitching, hot cutting and a tight sealing draft tube - it is hard to find. The cut of the bag is perfect. If you need more room get the Swift.
FF bags are expensive but they are worth the price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Keith   Climber [Jan 18, 2000]

Description: 20 degree moderately sized mummy, 750 down, nylon shell, ~ 2 lbs., $150 on auction

Usage: Lightweight climbing and backpacking where weight and size is at a premium.


The FF Swallow is an immacculate bag. FF has always had the reputation for first rate products. The bag definitely meets my expectations of the company. The loft is huge, the weight is accurate, the stitching is impeccable. No complaints at all. If you have been using a cheaper bag, the temperature ratings on the FF are much more realistic.

One caution: Retail price for this bag is considerably more than I paid.

Similar Products Used: Kelty
Sierra Designs
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Erik   Climber [Jul 21, 1999]

I give this bag super high marks. I got mine at a big discount, so the scary price didn't affect me much, but the bag is VERY warm for its rating, and the construction is impeccable. I didn't get the ""similar to Dryloft"" fabric, so it can gt damp if I'm not careful, but it was more than adequate for 6 days WAY above treeline in the North Cascades, mid July. (sleet and hail conditions)

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com