Eureka Timberlite XT Tents

Eureka Timberlite XT Tents 

DESCRIPTION

2-person, 3-season

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 28  
[Sep 27, 2019]
NC1 Hiker


Strength:

Easy set up, good resistance to wind. I went through a thunderstorm in the tent with 1/2 inch of rain and stayed dry. Also went through an all night rain storm and all went well. I added heavier duty aluminum stakes. I really like the weight of the tent. Great value and utility. My tent is 18 years old and still going strong!

Weakness:

I agree the tent is a bit on the small size. Excellent for one person or one adult and a child would fit fine. Could have better ventilation.

Price Paid:
140
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2001
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Mar 31, 2003]
Teresa
Backpacker

Decent tent for the price. My only complaint is that the floor lets some water in, even when a plastic ground cloth is used. The bottom of sleeping pads and anything off the pad gets damp. I have the 3 person which fits 2 and a 70# lab very well. I had a junction tube crack on the side of Mt Roan on the AT in March. The tent held up well to very strong winds with some guy out lines.

Customer Service

Eureka replaced the cracked junction tube at no charge.

Similar Products Used:

Eureka timberline

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 11, 2002]
Huhtanen
Backpacker

I have the Timberlite 3XT and find it to be a great 2 person tent with some room for gear inside in a small light package. (Very tight if you need 3 people)very stable in storms and has stood up in severe thunder storms in an open area that took down every dome tent in sight (I did tie a few guy wires to the rings on the fly)Been dry so far :)

Customer Service

Very good.. lost little fly pole and they sent one to me for no charge and I had it in 2 days

Similar Products Used:

I own a Timberline 2 (21 yrs. old) a timberline 4 (13 yrs. old) and a Equinox 6 (3 years old) All have been dry and very wind stable

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 12, 2002]
Scott Elligton
Backpacker

An excellent lightweight tent. Highly storm resistant, dry, and versatile. After I replaced steel stakes with aluminum ones, packed weight of mine was under 4.5 pounds. There are heavier tents with better performance in some respects, but the Timberlite is an excellent lightweight design. There are also slightly lighter tents with highly inferior performance, so I believe the Timberlite is a nearly ideal compromise between weight and performance for backpacking and bicycle touring.

Similar Products Used:

North Face Tadpole North Face June Bug

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 03, 2001]
Backpacker

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

This tent has served it''s purpose. This tent could use a little more head room but its compactness keeps the weight down. It has held up well in thunderstorms with high winds and lots of rain. The tent fly had a wet spot on it after a night in heavy dew but its getting some miles on it and could use a coating of AquaSeal PolyCoat. (might be condensation)

Customer Service

Friend''s daughter lost a junction tube when she borrowed it from me but Eureka sent me a set at no cost.

Similar Products Used:

Mostly low cost discount house products. (and I got what I paid for)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 26, 2001]
Jeremy
Backpacker

I got this tent as a barter for some design work. thus paid $00 I think it was going for $175 at the time.

I put backpacker, altough, I am using it more for bike touring.

As a diclamer, it seems most people reviewing this tent here are trying to get more out of this tent then there is.

This is a small 2 person tent, I would really call it a large 1 person, as that was my only intent when I picked it out. I liked its light weight, front vestibule and AL poles. (fiberglass sucks) This tent is a work horse for its price and weight. Nothing will ruin a 7 day bike tour like 6 wet nights, unless you have a good tent. I never have gotten wet in this tent, some have had issues with the rear portion of the fly, I just made sure to "face" the tent into the breeze at night no problems.

This has been a soild tent but I would not get another one. Reasons, there are much better tents out there for not that much more money. Main issues...doesn't breath, no taped seams, limited venting options, no full rainfly coverage, one entry exit and no headroom.

Look at the Moutain Pass XT(better all around offering), or the
Alpinelite XT(similar to timberlite XT but a real 4 season and addresses all of my complaints about the timberlite XT) These are both rugged value orintated tents, but if you have the $$ look to Moss, mountain hardware and sierra designs. These more expensive tents are alot better with amazingly toughtful features.

Bottom line...great value, soild work horse for light backpacking, touring and random camping, but there are much better tents if you are willing to spend even 60 to 70 dolars more.




Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 05, 2001]
Jim
Backpacker

I am writing this review on the older Timberlite 3, a "3 person tent" although it is very small for 3, better for 2 and great for one!

I bought this tent at an annual REI sale about 10 years ago, didn't plan to get a Eureka tent but at $99 couldn't pass it up. I really like it's small packed size, even with poles in the back. It sets up very easy. Rainfly works well, as with any other be sure to seam seal it. Solid set in the weather, although not near as tight or technical as a more expensive Sierra Designs, Mountain Hardware, Moss, etc. Yes, ventilation can be an issue. My son and I slept in it one night in our backyard this summer, and although it didn't rain a drop, everything was very damp and moist and some standing water on the floor the next morning just from condensation! Although in 10 years of using it, I've never had too much trouble with that, for some reason that night was the worst. A great little tent for one or two people, if you can get a used, clean and dry one for cheap, go for it!

Customer Service

Haven't needed any!

Similar Products Used:

Coleman big dome, REI half dome, Jansport half dome

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 17, 2000]
John N.
Backpacker

I've had this tent for about 2 years and have gone on trips to Minnesota(Bounadary Waters), Maine(Katahdan), and Shenandoah. The tent is light and fairly easy to put up.

I find that the ventilation is rather poor because the "noseeum" netting isn't letting any air into the tent. The door and the rear window are the only air sources; I suspect a roof window would allow for better heat control. Because the rainfly doesn't fully protect the rear window area of the tent, it tends to get a little wet; I've had to put a plastic bag under the the rear fly area to extend the fly out more. The vestible is not very roomy for packs.

This isn't a bad tent at all. Rain doesn't come in, but condensation doesn't go out either. Mild temperatures are more tolerable and drier conditions are preferred.

Customer Service

none.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 02, 2000]
Reed
Backpacker

I have had this tent for three years now and I like it. Easy to set up, take down, lightwieght, and it has worked well in the rain/hail/wind. The only drawback is that it is a tight fit for two people.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 26, 2000]
Kelly
Backpacker

This is a decent tent - good value, waterproof, stable, relatively light weight. I have gotten the plastic pole connectors mixed up while setting up in the dark for some major problems, but it was OK once I got it straightened out.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com