The North Face Nebula Tents

The North Face Nebula Tents 

DESCRIPTION

2-person, 3-4 season

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 39  
[Apr 04, 2019]
zakalu


Strength:

strong, durable, waterproof, robust, high strength 7075-E9 Easton aluminium poles, the flysheet is in under-coated 75 Dernier ripstop nylon and tent material are tough, the floor is in Taffeta Nylon 70 Dernier coated in PU to guarantee waterproofness. This thing is a beast for any condition, climate, season, roomy for two, palace for one. Been rained on heavy and completely waterproof, 2 roomy vestibules with full flat doors that can configure in a multitude of ways, a true 4 season beast. Can use without fly when no rain, all windows and door screen cover up with thick zippered tent fabric.

Weakness:

takes a little more time to set up, fly is large, but that is a strength after set up, with footprint weighs in on my scale at 9lb 14oz complete with poles, stakes etc--even though that is a little heavy, that is really a strength and why it is so strong and durable.

Price Paid:
115
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2010
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 12, 2013]
Joe
Backpacker

This tent is discontinued, so the point of a review is moot. But I have had this tent for 15 years. Car camped, backpacking, and bush flying. Desert, mountains, snow and rain. I have no complaints. It is a 3-4 season tent. Kinda tight with two people in the winter, but any other season, roomy enough. Great solo. Super easy to set up. Easy to clean. I just pull the steaks, and lift it over my head and lower it so I am standing in the door with my head inside. I don't know if you could do that with clips.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 03, 2006]
stuie
Paddler

fantastic in any weather,cold british winters hot greek summers due to its internal blind system.packs small with use i love my nebula would trust it in any situation well any situation i get in to highly recomend

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 25, 2003]
jon
Car Camper

have used this tent for more than 40 nights. sweet tent. not the easiest set up. a bit tight. awesome fly. floor could be thicker and bathtublike. overall awesome tent.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 30, 2002]
running wolf
Snowboarder

I bought the nebula to replace my 3 season tent. I used it for the first time, in Banff National park. In early December. It held up to wind, shrugged of snow. And performed perfectly. I had no condensation problems, but was alone. Found the vestabules spacious, and the tent palacial for solo trips. I have used it in any kind of weather and ad no problems. It has never leaked nor been seam sealed also. The option of variable shelters has also proven to be what it should be.

Similar Products Used:

Quest cornace 3

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 13, 2002]
virgil_likes_rum
Backpacker

I bought this tent on sale at REI. I was a little skeptical at first since 1. it's heavy, 2. it's a darker green, 3. the poles use sleeves instead of clips. I must say Im pretty impressed with it though. Ive used it in the desert (moses lake)during the summer and the ventilation is awesome. The amount of room makes it nice when I go camping with my fiance. Last year I used it in the snow and had some problems with condensation; but thats mostly my fault since it snowed 1.5ft overnight and I didnt want to get out and retighten the guy lines. I havent seam sealed it yet (it came with seam sealer) and I dont see a need to yet. Cooking space is great due to the dual vestible/doors. I split the poles/fly/ground cloth with whoever Im backpacking with to cut down on weight. This tent is much easier to set up than my last one (REI's Taj Mahal 3)

Customer Service

Never had to deal with North Face customer service; but REI definetly has the best customer service I have ever had to deal with.

Similar Products Used:

REI Taj Mahal 3, some crappy Eureka models

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 20, 2002]
Sylvestre Fink
Backpacker

I've had my tent for two years and used it for travelling, summer backpacking and winter camping. It's not the tent I thought it was when I bought it. Not that it has let me down, but there's a couple of little things that bug me. No bathtub floor and a seam through the middle of the floor make it more maintenance than I had expected or wanted. Then there's the corner of the fly that I can't get tight enough no matter what I do. There's always a peice of the fly that touches the tent, and that leads to leeks.... Otherwise I really like the tent. I love the doors and vestibules. Have no problem with ventilation (better for me than the Swallow where I would form stalagmites in the winter!)and I find the colour soothing... Set up is quick and easy and the quality of the pegs is nice too...

Customer Service

Not had to deal with them yet...

Similar Products Used:

Marmot Swallow, Kelty Jet Stream, Mountain Hardwear (can't remember the name), Sierra Designs Moon-something! and a host of cheapies....

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 16, 2002]
Delia and Justin
Climber

We seen some crazy places with our Nebula! It is our main showplace away from home most of the year(3seasonably) and has been so for the past 5 years! From Gila,NM to Yosemite to Southeast Alaska, and back here in Washington. When we first got her we seam sealed it once(back in 1997) and still don't worry about leakage, even in this here wet wonderland. Yes, condensation can happen but it will happen to any tent, so use your guy lines smartly! We once had mountain goats spying on us right through the "stargazer" window wanting to lick us in the early North Cascades mornings! We split the tent up between eachother for travel, one gets the fly, footprint,& stakes-the other gets the tent body & poles. This way if one of us gets split up we still have a functional shelter just in case we get separated. Rainfly door is cleverly converted into different options for the fussy homemaker weather dictating. Spacious vestbules in front and back keep life happy! See you soon with our Nebula in some backcountry near you!

Customer Service

Warranty Dept. is great! They'll help with anything and now that Vanity Fair owns them we'll have warranty service forever but never had to send her for repairs.

Similar Products Used:

TNF Expedition-25, Starfire, Cirrus

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 07, 2002]
Tim B
Backpacker

I purchased The North Face Nebula based on all the good reviews I had read. I used this tent on the Wonderland Trail on Mt. Ranier and my main complaint was condensation inside the tent. In the morning our sleeping bags and pads would be soaked. I had tried leaving the screens and vestibule doors open to allow the air to flow through, no luck...still lots of condensation. If The North Face had just made one simple change to the tent I think this would solve the condensation problem. They need to make the pole sleeves out of mesh to allow air to flow through the top of the tent and eliminate moisture. Other than this problem I was pleased with the tent. The double vestibule works great when two people are in the tent, it allows each person their own entrance. I never had problem with the seams or bathtub leaking during a rain storm and we had a few of these on the trail. Also the color of the tent should be changed to a light blue or yellow, instead of a depressing green. I give the Nebula a 3 out of 5!!

Customer Service

Never had to use yet!

Similar Products Used:

Marmot Swallow-My friend had bought the Marmot Swallow and I gave this tent a very high rating. Lots of air vents throughout the tent to eliminate any kind of moisture. I give the Marmot Swallow 5 out

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 23, 2001]
Dan M
Backpacker

I've had this tent for over 5 years now, and its held up through all kinds of weather. I seam sealed it to be on the safe side, and it has remained bone-dry during several multi-day storms in West Virginia. This tent ventilates well on warm nights, and seals up nice and snug on cold ones. In addition, there's plenty of room for me (6' 2", 180 lbs) my wife, and our dog. Plus, the 2 vestibules provide a lot of storage space. Sure, its a little heavy, but in exchange you get a bomb-proof shelter that will stand up to any weather your likely to see below 10,000 feet in the lower 48.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 39  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com