Perception Acadia Kayaks

Available At:
Acadia

Length: 12'4 Width: 27.5 in

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
steve field   Paddler [Jan 09, 2012]

Started out kayaking late last season with my local club in Maidstone UK, using their equipment gave me an insight (and a lust) for kayaking. Started out in a Dagger Approach, then bought a Charlseton 15' coz i was told that it was a good beginners boat ............ NOT. After a few fast early upturns ending in disaster made a local trade with the owner of a Acadia 12' who was looking for something faster. Since trading for the Acadia i spend most weekends on 'the medway'(our local river), i find it can hold a good turn of speed which is easy to maintain. Its stablility is pretty good, with good tracking.I do find it a little on the heavy side but you get used to it :)If you do capsize, it is an easy boat to empty due to the airtight rear compartment. The keyhole cockpit makes for easy entry and exit from landing stages etc. I am glad to hear someone has used it doing the full length of The Grand Union Canal, as it was what i bought the kayak for later this year :). As another steve has said, the only thing i can fault it with is if you strap it down too hard the area just in front of the cockpit tends to 'flex' a bit. All in all i would rate the Acadia as a 9 out of 10 kayak. I like it so much i am buying another for my son :))

Customer Service

Kent Canoe Centre have supplied a second to none service not just for the kayak but also for the ancilliaries that come with playing on the water :))

Similar Products Used: Dagger Approach
Pyrahna
Dagger Charleston
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
KayakPaddler   Paddler [Jul 24, 2009]

I bought this boat a few years back after trying a Swifty 3.1 and hating it. My Acadia has the old-style low plastic seat. However, by sitting on a Crazy Creek high back chair, it's a very comfy ride. I bought a Captiva later, thinking that by having more of a touring style of boat, it would be more satisfying. I still like the Acadia better. It is light, easy to turn, and fun. Plus, it's fairly fast...faster than the Captiva I think. However, I've since also gotten a Wilderness Systems Tarpon 160, which is an awesome boat. But, it's longer and heavier, and while it turns amazingly fast, the Acadia is perfectly suited for creeks and coves, and at the same time capable of rivers and estuaries. I haven't paddled it on the coast, but I think it would do fine for close to shore.

Customer Service

Pretty good. I haven't talked to them in a long time.

Similar Products Used: Wilderness Systems Tarpon, Perception Swifty, Perception Eclipse, fiberglass sea kayaks that Derek Hutchinson designed, and lots of canoes.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe Martin   Paddler [Jun 05, 2008]

I've had this Kayak for about 8 years and have loved it. Now it's time to move on to a more sea worthy kayak. Don't get me wrong I will not get rid of it. My skills have progressed beyond the capabilities of this kayak. I will definitely pass it on to my kids.

Customer Service

Great.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
eric   Paddler [Dec 01, 2003]

Great all-round boat, especially for solo paddling. Doesn't track very well but it makes up for it in its maneuverability. I paddle alot in the New Jersey pine barrens where the rivers can be extremely windy and narrow. I find this boat to be ideal for that kind of situation. The inflatable lumbar support in the seat is a big plus!(available on the 2004 models) the only problem is that the air release valve comes off very easy. I almost lost it the very first time I put the boat it in the water. be sure not to loosen it too much. There is plenty of dry storage space at the stern for overnight trips. Tent, sleep bag food clothes, etc.

Customer Service

haaaahaa! i can help you. im a salesman. i believe the customer service i gave myself was supurb!

Similar Products Used: perception carolina 14.5 (airalite) dagger catylist 13 dagger element (new for 2004!) dagger blackwater 11.5 perception sundance 12 (airalite) perception sonoma 13.5 (airalite) perception shadow wilderness systems pungo 120 ocean kayak malibu two xl boreal design ookpik heritage sea dart old town loon 138 heritage featherlite oldtown loon 120
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
5
Phil   [Oct 02, 2001]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

I''ve just got back from canoeing the entire length of the Grand Union Canal - the longest waterway in the UK (135 miles). My kayak was an Acadia, which I hired, and I have to say it''s a fantastic boat. Runs nice and straight, really comfy seats, very stable and fits in a van. Loads of stowage space but access can be a bit tricky (esp as my model had no hatch or bungee decking). She''s a bit heavy for carrying round lock gates, but light enough in the water and great fun if unladen. A five star beginner''s boat - though more advanced users might want to look at the Carolina instead.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
C. Sommerhoff   Paddler [Jan 26, 2001]

First rate entry level kayak. Plenty of room for gear, good stability, tracks well. Ideal for rivers and lakes, but can be used on the bay and ocean in moderate conditions- Though it might be a bit wet and tough going.
This boat will holds its value should you want to upgrade later and sell it.

Similar Products Used: Perception Swifty
Various Sit On Tops
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve Jablonski   Paddler [Oct 07, 2000]

My first kayak and used it every week from April til October this year. Used for 120 mile 4 day trip on Mississippi and had room to spare. Carried tent, sleeping bag and plenty of clothes, food and gear. Used alot on Lake Superior including open water crossing out to Apostle Islands and allowed me to experience that lake in 3 states and Canada. Conditions prevented launching several times, but would not have launched with a larger sea kayak either. On inland lakes it works great. Tracks very well and does it all. Looking to upgrade but will be sad to give this one up. I go solo and is easy to handle alone. Had no problems transporting it all over the upper midwest on top of my small Mazda. Hull started deforming slightly in front from strapping on top of car so need to watch how you secure and store. Upside down is recommended. Very comfortable. I love this boat.

Customer Service

Required no service

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Available At:
Erik   Paddler [Sep 06, 2000]

A great boat! I wanted an entry level boat that would be able to facilitate day tripping as well as a couple of overnighters whether I was going down a local river or paddling in Lake Michigan. The only draw back is that if you plan on doing strictly lake kayaking, the Acadia is a bit bulky and tends to meander of its course. But if you are looking for boating both rivers and lakes, and do a little camping, its a good boat.

Customer Service

The deck rigging fastners came apart because of a poor batch of plastic, but the new set came within a week of my call.

Similar Products Used: Perception Carolina
Perception Eclipse
Wilderness Systems Manteo
Walden Passage
Perception Swifty
Heritage Sea Dart
Walden Vista
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Eric   Paddler [Sep 04, 2000]

This is my first kayak and I've had it for 2 seasons. I use it primarily for Striped Bass fishing in the ocean. It has decent speed and maneuverability and can take a beating, which it has. Stability is fine, although I don't really have anything to compare it to. For an entry level boat, you can't go wrong.

Customer Service

Customer service is great. After the first season, the clips that hold the deck rigging started to deform. One E-mail and 4 days later, I had a replacement set.

Similar Products Used: Old Town Loon 138, Wilderness Systems Pungo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com