Perception Swifty Kayaks

Perception Swifty Kayaks 

DESCRIPTION

Length: 9'4 ft Width: 29.5 in

USER REVIEWS

Showing 11-20 of 32  
[Jun 28, 2008]
julian
Paddler

I have four of these kayaks; 1 for each member of the family, from 75lbs to 220. We use them in general on class 1 and 2 rivers. They are especially great for exploring flooded wetlands and oxbow lakes, as they are short, turn quickly, and are easy to paddle. Even our youngest can handle the Swifty with ease, and I (at 220 lbs) do not feel I overload the boat.

In short, we couldn't be more delighted with these boats, and the price helped us get our whole family kayaking for less than might be paid for one "premium" boat. The most important criteria for us is that we all get to have fun. We've explored hidden cypress forests, spotted blue herons, eagles, hawks, wood ducks, kingfishers, mallards, and even run a few rapids in these boats. What's not to like?

Similar Products Used:

Perception Ocean touring kayaks (twin) in Alaska, Perception Prodigy 10, Old Town kayaks and canoes, Grumman and Alumacraft canoes for more than 30 years.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 2008]
tlaclare
Paddler

I love my little Swifty! I wanted a little kayak I could throw over my shoulder and head to the water with. This certainly fits the bill and at an awesome price point. Totally fits in my car with the hatch closed - Mazda 6. There are more expensive, higher end kayaks out there but this one suits a variety of paddlers and the kids especially love it! You won't go wrong with the recreational boat if that is what you are looking for.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 16, 2008]
bill nalwasky
Paddler

excellent kayack the seat is the pits. paddle for 3 or 4 hours and you will be a criple.

Similar Products Used:

keowee 2.5 much mor comfortable.big difference in price, size and weight

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 03, 2008]
May Lattanzio
Paddler

I love this kayak!
I have used it on St. Andrews Bay, and I often take it across the street to paddle the creek. I'm nearly 65, a writer and photographer. I needed something stable because of alligators and because I for sure, am no spring chicken. Also, most of all, when I have my camera with me, I need the stability of a beamy boat.

It serves all my needs perfectly and is easy to get in and out.

It's sturdy little thing - I use a kayak cart to move it.

I think it is perfect for youngsters, since I am planning to sit my grandchildren who are small, in it this summer and take them for a paddle (though one at a time.

http://maylattanzio.blogspot.com/

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 14, 2008]
Ed Lack
Paddler

My first yak. I got it for a Fathers Day gift and it has been well used. Does not track or glide well, but, it is a steady and comfortable platform. Great for biginners and experienced paddlers. I have been fishing out of this boat for four years and have put a ton of fish on board. I have since purchased a different (larger) boat, but I will never get rid of my swifty. I have since converted some bass fishermen to kayak fishermen.

Similar Products Used:

Featherlite by Heritage.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 24, 2007]
stu
Paddler

My first boat, and the right choice. I paid about 350 for my Swifty, and I have spent 3 seasons in it on the Potomac River. Your turn a bit with each stroke, but it stops on a dime and does hustle, but you have to work. I now use it to assist in triathlon swims, and prefer it becuase of how easy it is to turn. I am now about to purchase a bigger craft for some light touring, but the Swifty is a king for beginners, and a fun everday boat for paddlers of any skill. Lots of fun, light, affordable, sturdy, and steady. I will always keep my Swifty.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Apr 23, 2007]
Darrin Foster
Car Camper

This has been the most fun per dollar of any sporting equipment I have. Very easy to paddle and manover. Easy to carry, fits in the back of a pickup. It is not fast. 3-3.5 mph cruise speed. If you want to cover a lot of water this probably isn't the boat for you.

Similar Products Used:

Old Town Loon 138, Ocean Malibu, Ocean scupper classic, Necky Gannet, Ocean sundowner

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 30, 2007]
Dylan
Backpacker

Getting tired of the regular hiking I decided to purchase my swifty. After spending a few months paddling I quickly fell in love with my her. I went on a 150 mile paddlehike and the swifty never let me down......not once. LOVE IT!

Customer Service

None

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 14, 2005]
Joan
Paddler

I now have two Swiftys; so I always have one for someone else to come with! My first one I bought quite some time ago. We put in additional flotation bags, front and rear, and have river kayaked class 1, 2, and (accidently) 3 rapids. What a blast! I have managed to tip it(my fault - stupid mistake) and it sank. Thus, the flotation bags. I have now purchased a new Swifty for my husband, They are much improved over my older Swifty. It has more built-in flotation, REAL comfortable seat, bungie strap holder on rear deck, attached mesh water bottle bag, a lot more comfortable carrying handles. I read the review about poor tracking. I disagree with that. I feel it tracks very well. However, I will admit that it would not be suited for the advanced kayaker. This is just a real fun, fun, fun toy; and a very safe one at that. We just recently traveled from the state of Washington to Wisconsin for a family vacation and took the Swiftys with us. They were used non-stop by all the kids and also my 88 year old Dad, who went kayaking for the first time and is now going to buy one.

Similar Products Used:

had a 18' sea kayk. Sold that, too heavy for me. Now I have a 14 1/2' sea kayak. love that too.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 22, 2005]
kychow
Paddler

Strictly for beginners. If all you want to do is get on the water for as little money and hassle as possible, then consider the Swifty. It is very stable and has a huge carrying capacity. However, it is a TUB!! You will not be a happy paddler if you want to cover any kind of distance in the boat. Lots of pivoting with each stroke and almost no tracking or glide to speak of. If you think you'll be paddling for a while, get more boat.

Customer Service

NA

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 11-20 of 32  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com