Prijon Kodiak Kayaks

Prijon Kodiak Kayaks 

DESCRIPTION

Fleet and surely one of the finest in touring craftsmanship, the new Kodiak is designed to balance the counter-purposes of speed, carrying capacity, stability and comfort. The 17’ Kodiak features a Trihedral hull & convex waterlines similar to racing kayaks.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Sep 08, 2018]
svizec


Strength:

Great boat, you can load it as much as you want, for a day or multi days trips. Prijon - Kodiak is well known expedition boat for years long, it was tested in most extreme conditions, from mediterranean sea to difficult arctic conditions - there is not much more to say. For me as an intermediate experienced paddler the kodiak is very interesting boat, very stable, especially when loaded at least 10 kg in front and back; unloaded could be little tippy, especially in waves and the windy conditions. I don"t have a rudder, but I think if you are not a proffesional and very demanding paddler, you will not need it, you just have to laod the boat and it goes straight in what ever conditions. Kodiak is also a very fast boat.

Weakness:

Kodiak is the sea kayak, primarily constructed for long trips, so it is not very appropriate for coastal cruising or daily paddling on rivers or small lakes. It is quite long (5,20 meters), little heavy (28 kg), maybe difficult to transport for just a short daily paddling. But if you are looking for a durable and safe expedition boat, the Kodiak is the right boat for you.

Price Paid:
750 Euros
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2015
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jan 25, 2017]
Gil
Paddler

I’ve been paddling the Prijon Kodiak in Alaska since 2009. Here is my story: it carries at ton of gear and is very fast but it’s unstable. The first two are are very important in expedition kayaking. It suffers in primary stability; it rides like a white water boat in class 2 in calm waters – it is tough to paddle in rough water. Its secondary stability has worked for me but you have to be engaged with the boat!

I have compared it to the British boats (Greenland style). The Brit boats are sports cars - they rock in rough water. But…you don’t take a Brit sports car down a remote, backcountry Alaskan dirt road! It’s the fastest boat out there and it carries a of gear which in Alaska means something. In Alaska there may be no resupply and you have to make the crossings NOW when the weather breaks – gear and speed.

I spoke with a guy who helped design the Kodiak. He said the boat was designed for speed and cargo capacity – the Price was stability. My experience is an empty boat is a cork on water. You have to load weight in the front hatch, move the center of buoyancy forward. If I am paddling empty I load 20+ lbs of ballast in the front hatch of the boat- it helps stability a lot. You can even address moving the seat forward. A loaded the boat is SOLID! 70 lbs of gear and its great (I can get two full sized bear vaults in the boat plus lots of other stuff.) If you are a minimalist this is NOT your boat. If you are in a remote, isolated area this IS your boat.

The Kodiak has a very high deck. This provides a great back rest, minimizing back pain. You can forget a cowboy rescue! I have seen very talented paddlers fail. It has too much free board for that. Self-rescue is tough. The boat comes with a paddle float setup. I’ve tried it, imagine climbing up onto a cork.

So…this boat is the boat for Alaska. Fast, lots but you gear but you gotta be involve in the paddling.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 12, 2008]
Robin Roberts
Paddler

I'm not a big plastic kayak fan mainly because they're too slow for me but thats not the case with the Kodiak. I was going in to pick up my composite and when I got there it had not arrived yet so I was given a Kodiak to paddle for the day. All I could say was WOW, what an amazing boat. Roomy, very comfortable and fast. Everything one needs. I'd buy one in a heartbeat.

Similar Products Used:

Used the Seayak a few times, worst boat in the wind I've been in yet without the rudder. Foolish to get one of these without a rudder. Bad in the wind and small cockpit, that's about the only bad thing about it though, everything else is very nice.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 16, 2003]
Charis
Paddler

Great touring boat: designed to maintain good speed all day while hauling a LOT of gear. I've heard it said the Kodiak is the fastest plastic boat and have no reason to doubt it. Tracks well with little or no weathercocking but turns fine if you learn to edge it. I've never felt the slightest need for a rudder. Solid construction and many nice design features: neoprene hatch covers under hard plastic covers keep storage hatches dry; handy deck netting; easily adjustable footpegs with pivoting rudder controls; VERY comfortable adjustable seat (with cup holder); adjustable thigh braces. Seat and thigh braces adjust with a hex key that's securely and cleverly stored in the seat. Both initial and secondary stability are good enough for almost everyone to be comfortable. Large keyhole cockpit allows me (6'1" with long legs) to easily get my rear in first and then pull my legs in. More importantly it allows you to vary your position on those long paddles. Only downside: heavy boat, probably around 65#. I also have a Seayak and the Kodiak tracks better and weathercocks less; however, it's not as nimble. The Kodiak is more of a Lincoln Town Car and the Seayak is more sporty. Overall, an excellent touring boat you won't outgrow. Might be overkill for day paddling in lakes, but it's still a lot of fun whereever you go. A very nice boat that should last for a long time. Check out the on-line review in seakayakermag.com.

Customer Service

Matt has always treated me right.

Similar Products Used:

Prijon Seayak; Feathercraft Kahuna.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 28, 2003]
mprystauk
Paddler

The Kodiak is my first kayak. I got it onto the water the other day and felt comfortable in it within a matter of minutes...and this was my first time kayaking in almost five years with minimal experience. I was able to easily maneuver through the numerous trees which protrude from Monksville resevoir in New Jersey without the use of the rudder. It clearly does is not made for fast turn; however, it seems quite capable when set on it's edge. Overall it is comfortable, stable and fast. It is well constructed and appointed, (I did a lot of research before purchasing and decided on a Prijon based primarily on its blow molded manufacturing process). I look forward to many years of paddling and exploring with my Kodiak.

Customer Service

N/A

Similar Products Used:

Consider a Necky

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 13, 2002]
Joseph Bragen
Paddler

The Kodiak by prijon is an excellent kayak. It performs very well in rough and calm water. It also has an amazing amount of storage area. I had been a canoer for about 10 years before I purchased the kodiak. I am new to the kayak world and the kodiak is very forgiving. It is a good boat to learn on.

Customer Service

I have not had any problems with the boat so customer service really isn't an issue.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 22, 2002]
breeliz
Paddler

This is such a fine boat that I bought two of them. I bought the boats soon after they were first announced. I had to wait for one to come in from Germany. I have taken them on Lake Michigan, Lake Superior, Georgian Bay, several local rivers and lakes. I have tricked the boats out with electric bilge pumps and custom rigging. As they stand now, they are amongst the best sea kayaks around. They are extremely durable, expedition boats. They have ultra high capacity while maintaing good speed in the water. Indeed, the Kodiak likes to be heavily loaded. I think they perform even better loaded than empty. They roll easily and have many excellent safety features... thick, well-sealed bulkheads that don''t leak... great double hatch covers... full perimeter lines... netting fore and aft of the cockpit... gas-pedal style rudder system that allows you to both brace on the footpeg and use the rudder at the same time... customizable, removable, bolt-on thigh braces. The boats track well without the rudder. The rudder locks them on course in following seas or high winds. The seat is very comfortable and there is enough space behind the seat for our bilge pumps, hose, and several stuff sacks. The cockpit is very long (36") allowing larger paddlers to easily slide in. You can pull your knees up which is a very nice comfort feature. The bottom line is that in a very competitive market, this boat excels. Other paddlers have reviewed it with similar comments. It is an outstanding boat that is fun and safe.

Customer Service

I have had excellent response from the folks at Wildwasser. They are knowledgeable and service oriented.

Similar Products Used:

I have paddled in several other kayaks, both whitewater and touring boats over the last 20 years.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 09, 2001]
Eric
Paddler

This kayak is just 6" longer than the Seayak. I have owned this one for almost two years. This kayak is rated for those people slightly larger than can fit in the Seayak. As such it takes a little extra weight to get it to sit down in the water properly. Keep this in mind when purchasing. As with the Seayak, get the rudder! I cannot stress this enough. There is no enjoyment in going back in forth in the water for no forward gain. A windy day will make it a futile effort. You might as well stay ashore! Blowmolded plastic is tougher than with most other kayaks made of strictly polyethylene in the traditional manner. The vessel is a bit heavy but the positive side to this is its durability. This kayak will certainly stand up to many years of bumps and scratches. This is a plus. I don't dance around my outdoor toys like a ferry hoping I don't scratch them. That's for wussies. This boat is made in Germany and it is plenty tough. I have had countless hours of enjoyment in this kayak and you can count on many more. I will have these kayaks when my kids grow up and you can bet they will enjoy them too. Great investment! You won't go wrong with this kayak. Its almost identical to the Seayak, but remember to keep your weight in mind. This kayak is built for those too large for the slightly smaller Seayak. Happy waves!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com