Rossignol Bandit X All Mountain

Bandit X

The all new Bandit X offers great energy and rebound in a lightweight ski, excelling on both groomed trails and in the crud.. Integral Dualtec combines cap and laminate structures to create responsive energy transmission and increase edge grip under your foot. Developed to build skier confidence, Freeride VAS technology uses a visco-elastic material to absorb vibrations at high speeds and in variable terrain. Unique V-Flex shape and tapered aluminum top sheet allows the torsional flex of the ski to vary from tip to tail, for all-mountain versatility.

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
Eve   Skier [Nov 08, 2007]

These skis can handle it all. You can be an experienced skier and handle these skis. These handled fresh wet 3 foot snow with no problem. A skier on these should definately lean forward to initiate the smooth turns and bite on ice. These can handle bad snow, moguls and sticks. These have a sharp edge and work best at longer lengths. I'm 5'5 with the 170's.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
esmundo   Skier [Feb 01, 2005]

Crud, hardpack, groom, bumps. It's hard to name one thing this ski can't do. Well, may be powder but that's not this ski is design for and there're the other version of bandit which is fatter. Very forgiving ski, big sweet spot at the tail that even you made a mistake and lean back a little there're enough room for adjustment. I agree with the other reviewer that you need to be aggressive to keep pressure at the tip. Perform best at medium radius. Beautiful all around ski.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Claudus   Skier [Feb 17, 2003]

Hands down the best ski I've skied on. They have an excellent feel, awsome carving and can get you the speed if you wish. Performs best in light powder and machine groomed, but also performs well on icier surfaces.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Eric Mulders   Skier [Oct 23, 2002]

I am an all-mountain expert, aged 38, with 33 years of experience. I am 5'9" and 175 lbs. I ski anything from trees to bumps to groomers. I first demoed the Bandit X (184 length)when I was on vacation in the Banff area, and found it to be an extremely versatile ski when it came to bumps, trees, and fresh snow. This was not the first pair of shaped skis I had been on, and actually own three other pairs of shaped skis. The skis were not too heavy, and were actually quite nimble off-piste. They initiate well, but require an aggressive forward stance to keep the tips planted. The one thing these skis do not do well is hold an edge on hardpack or ice. They tend to skid and hunt for something to bite into. All-in-all, a good all mountain ski for the West, not the East, unless there is plenty of fresh snow.

Similar Products Used: K2 Merlin V Volant Machete McG Solomon X-Scream 8 and 9 Rossignol Mountain Viper Atomic Beta-Carve 9.22
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Ashley Chong   Skier [Sep 04, 2002]

Great all-rounder. Stable at speed, quick turning, good thru bumps and well balanced. Have used 2000banditX and was impressed. Used in Chamonix & NZ. Price is GBP & included FTX 110 bindings, was a bargain.

Similar Products Used: 2000 Bandit X; Salomon Pilot10, Salomon X-Scream, K2 Three, Salomon Force9 3S
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Todd   Skier [Aug 26, 2002]

Very good all mountain ski. Very stable at higher speeds but not too stiff for light weights like me. (6' 165 lbs) Handles crud with no problem and quick in the moguls. I skiied the K2 Axis X Pro which has the same dimensions but it was just too stiff and hard to control. The Bandit X carves well and has great snap. Of all the freeride/all mountain skis this one is a great buy for the price. Price is USD for demos plus bindings

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
haza   Skier [Jul 16, 2002]

This is the most awsome ski i have ever used. They have made me so much more confident skiing mogal fields. The edge perfectly on the bashed runs and mean i can go much more confidently go at high speeds. (Price at top in AUS$)

Similar Products Used: Salomon X-Scream Series
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
clubted   Skier [Apr 26, 2002]

I also have never been a big Rossi fan until these. Crud, bumps, 40mph, slush, it just doen''t matter, they just ask for more. The most remarkable thing is their forgiveness. You can ski them forward, really pressuring the turns and the tails really snap. Similarly you can be lazy in the afternoon, ski neutrally, even slightly back and they still hold an incredible edge. A truly remarkable product. I agree don''t go long. I''m 5''11'', 170 and ski the 177. Its perfect. I spent 2 days demoing skis at Mammoth in Jan and although some were slightly better at individual things, none were close as an overall ski.

Similar Products Used: Volkl G3, Bandit XX, Salomon X Scream
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
brandon1   Skier [Mar 26, 2002]

Great ski, I ski on the midwest and the west and it''s great both places. Not the best in deep snow but thats not what it''s designed for. You can use it virtually anywhere. Good in the terrain parks, enough of a twin tip to let you land backwards. Much better than any of the other skis I''ve ever skiied on. Only down side is the tops chip pretty easy, I took a huge chunk in a crash. The best "multi- use" ski you will ever find.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Edward Duree   Skier [Feb 26, 2002]

These skies are awsome. All that you need to do is think "turn" and it happens on groomers. For an all mountain ski they carve into hardpack. Short is good. I am six feet tall and I have 184s. In the powder and crud, I am still testing.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com