Salomon Skiing X-Scream Series All Mountain

Salomon Skiing X-Scream Series All Mountain 

DESCRIPTION

Delivering a sense of freedom and speed while turning, these skis are an excellent choice for all-mountain skiers.. Shaped-ski technology, deep sidecut and a wide base provide deep snow surface flotation and the ability to carve high speed turns. Composite structure combines titanium and aluminum to provide increased stability and steering precision. Softex™ construction dampens vibration at high speeds to provide smooth contact between ski and snow. Prolink Twin Y + V arms in both tip and tail ensure fluent contact with the snow and responsiveness to forces applied on the ski during a turn. Poplar/beech wood core delivers high power and good ski reponse.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Sep 06, 2003]
hpjones
Advanced

Strength:

Easy to turn Stable Plows through the crud. Good float in all types of crud.

Weakness:

NONE

The Salomon XScream Skis are magnificent. I first skied the 9's at Jackson Hole about 4 years ago. I was so impressed with them that I purchased a pair of the Series models the next week. I have read reviews that were negative and have spoken with people that didn't like them. The only answer I have to this is that perhaps these folks aren't as good as they think they are. There are far too many big mountain skiers using the Excreme Series and Series Skies for them to warrent some of the low score I see here. If you're a strong, agressive skier, try them. They eat up the mountain. I am not the ultimate bump skier. But, I've taken these down double black bump runs in heavy corn at Park City.....Well, I got a good suntan waiting for the rest of the group to get to the bottom of the hill.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 04, 2003]
justin
Skier

Sal X- scream series Great ski....very questionable durability! I've seen more warranty issues with this ski than any other. Torsion forks flying off left and right, stress cracks on the top sheet, complete loss of camber in very few ski days. If only this ski held up as well as it skis!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 25, 2003]
Dan
Skier

Great ski have had for 2 years and find they are great in everyting even mogles .only fault is stiff tail when landing hard off cliffs and big jumps. plus ski can be bent on back . bent last year off small cliff . but was able to find demo to replace. so if not doing too much air ski is great.

Customer Service

great customer service was able to get demo when ski bent.

Similar Products Used:

Dynastar sc10, Head

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jan 24, 2003]
jasae
Skier

This ski is absolutely the best! I found this ski very responsive in just about every aspect (must pay attention in moguls). They blast through crud, and slice through powder like a hot knife in butter. I found myself skiing at higher speeds than usual because I felt confident that they would hold an edge. I can't say enough about these skis; they have made me a much more confident skier. Now I only have to make adjustments in how I ski when I'm in moguls.

Similar Products Used:

Volkl G3, Elan MX2000

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 03, 2002]
Michael C
Skier

Ilove these skis! Very predictable and very true in groomed, powder, chunky monkey, and regular crud. These skis are not phased by the preceding conditions. If you're a really good skier and stay within the sweet spot of these skis, this ski will take you anywhere on the mountain. And I paid $350 for them. Outstanding!

Similar Products Used:

Atomic 9.22, Vokl G3, Bandit XX, K2Axis X

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 11, 2002]
wilkined
Skier

I have to agree. This is a ski that you put on and forget. I find myself skiing on autopilot, carving behind the rises, ripping from side to side in the steeps. All you have to do is put the ski on edge and let it take the carve it wants. Great on hard pack and windblown. One of the top three skis on the hills these days.

Customer Service

OK

Similar Products Used:

Yes.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 19, 2002]
Christian Hilmersen
Skier

I had theese skis for two years - and they were excellent. My only concern was if I ever would get a new pair of skis. This winter, I lost a ski in the powder, and bought myself a pair of crossmax 10 pilots - which I liked even better. I am 1.86cm, weigh 85 kg ski mostly short turns. My skis were 178. What I really love about the series and the crossmax is that they are good at everything. I even prefer them to my salomon ak-rockets in powder (boring - no pumping). Only 4 stars because, I am living without them...and the crossmax has an edge (might be because I am an x racer)

Customer Service

Not used

Similar Products Used:

div

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 10, 2002]
DJL
Skier

These skiis are best sellers and for good reason -- they are very responsive and can be taken up to warp speed even in crud and they won''t blink. One caution, however, they are skiiable in the moguls but only if you are very good, and even then they are a lot of work. I own these and also bought X-Scream 9''s. The 9''s are now my favorite. They are much quicker in the moguls due to a softer tail but still retain most of the stability of the Series. I use the Series when skiing back bowls or on crud days or when I want to go at ludicrous speed. But on most days when I want to bash the bumps I leave them home and use the 9''s.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 12, 2002]
Brian Reynolds
Skier

I have ridden just about everything this year. I made a few turns on this ski, and knew it was the ski. It is a very stable at all speeds. Holds a great edge at high speeds. Good energy. If you are an aggressive all mountain skier, this is your beast. Very easy, forgiving, and confident to ski on. You have got to try this ski.

Similar Products Used:

Bandit XX, Volkl G3, Axis Pro, Scream 10, Crossmax

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 09, 2002]
Mike Johnson
Skier

I demo''d these skis at Snowbird. To be fair, I was looking for an all mountain/mogul ski. These skis are good carving skis, but they tend to be hard to turn in the moguls. The back end of the ski just doesn''t want to come around. Not a very fast turning ski. I''m 6'' and ski advanced. The skis I demo''d were short, 170''s.

Similar Products Used:

Salomon Pilot 10, Teneighty, Rossi Bandit X

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com