Arbor Woodie Freeride

Arbor Woodie Freeride 

DESCRIPTION

With a nod to the original board-sport of surfing, this wood-topped, all-mountain snowboard offers a smooth freeride that rules the trees and powder.. Hawaiian koa wood topsheet helps maintain shape and camber for a responsive ride with a specially-formulated resin to dampen and reduce vibration. Full-length aspen/poplar wood core provides durability and an even flex for edge control, solid turns and smooth transitions. ReductionCap™ construction with triaxial fiberglass is thinner in the nose and tail for a lightweight, lively and super-responsive ride. Steel edges and aluminum tip and tail provide maximum protection and durability. Directional shape features a moderately deep sidecut for easy turns. New Durasurf 2001® die-cut sintered base provides increased speed, improved durability and weight reduction. Wood veneer topsheets contain less than 2.6 cubic inches of wood and are from environmentally friendly sources.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Jan 23, 2004]
theotherwhitemeat
Intermediate

Strength:

i haven't found any faults yet, even the scratches are cool. cuz chicks dig scars, whether they're on you or the board.

Weakness:

it doesn't seem to be a great park board, but who cares, it's sweet everywhere else

when i saw the board i knew that it was the one for me, i learned to surf while in australia and it said... and i quote " take me home and ride me hard!" it's got such an oldskool feel to it. i've been out of boarding for a bit, but this thing rips!!! i haven't had it in any deep powder yet, but the bit it has been in is so smooth and silky, actually it's like that everywhere i've had it, and the looks i get from everyone else. i know why it's called the woodie.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 30, 2003]
nikmann
Advanced

Strength:

really flexable and really light

Weakness:

scractches up heaps easy

nice board (it wouldnt let me swear)

Similar Products Used:

burton bmc

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 30, 2003]
nikmann
Advanced

Strength:

really flexable and really light

Weakness:

scractches up heaps easy

nice board (it wouldnt let me swear)

Similar Products Used:

burton bmc

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 20, 2003]
bossit
Advanced

Strength:

Great looking, strong & smooth, just like its owners.

Weakness:

None

Owned various boards for over 10 years now and after I demo my friends Arbor Woodie I never went back. Went to my local dealer and got the Woodie 158. This board is the Bomb!!! The first time going down it felt like I was in a sports car. The board handled everything I threw at it, jumps, carving, and some major speed. I didn't only keep up with my skier friends down the slope, found that most of the time they were playing catch up to me.

Similar Products Used:

Burton, GNU, K2, Simms

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 02, 2003]
shreves_t
Advanced

Strength:

It has great stability and turning ability. It can be used on all snow surfaces and mountain sizes. Not to mention that it looks Great!

Weakness:

The Hawaiian Koa scratches easily. The large size makes tricks a bit more difficult(not too bad).

The board handles very smoothly. It holds beautifly in a turn, and has wonderful stability. It is the best board I have owned. It is worth spending a more to get a lot more.

Similar Products Used:

Burton, Nirto, K2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 19, 2002]
Brett Huber
Intermediate

Strength:

Holds edges well and cruises through the powder. Very fast in the truns and responsive as hell.

Weakness:

Topsheet scraches easily but you can repair it if you like.

This board rips dude! I always get checked out at the lift by other riders. Plus the girls love it. I cannot believe how much fun this board is to ride, just strap it on and let go, she will take you were you want to be. Heaven baby!

Similar Products Used:

Burton, Sims

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 23, 2002]
Bo
Advanced

Strength:

Weight and flexibility

Weakness:

Ability to let it hang out at high speeds

Board is light and very responsive in powder to crud. A little choopy on ice and at very high speeds. Handles well in parks and pipes.

Similar Products Used:

Burton, Lib Tech

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 12, 2002]
orbolup88
Advanced

Strength:

after a ton of research, picked up the 166 woodie soft- for a big mountain board. usually ride in the 160 to 163 size range, so i was fearing the ride. one hour, i was hooked. the board is responsive, very stable with just the right amount of stiff, enough flex to power the board from edge to edge, and if you like to feel the ride beneath, it is just soft enough... handles like a dream in powder, a rocket on pack (with very little chatter)- even handles spring conditions with ease- took it for a spin in the park too, and as long speed is up, the board is still a fair park ride- for a 166. this board, however, excels at high speeds and big mountain steeps, and anything in your way on the mountain- kickers, rollers, drops, rocks, moose, whatever.- never felt so stable and in control. can''t beat the look of the board either. as an older, long time rider, it was hard to find a good ride with matching graphics- graphics that didn''t look like i was trying to be sixteen, or date themselves in a week- the woodie top sheet looks simple and has old school charm no blood, barbarians, dragons, skulls or techno junk..

Weakness:

topsheet scratches easy, but scratches ad character kiddies. noodles out at slower speeds, wouldn''t recommend for park riding

stable and responsive ride, excellent at high speeds, takes on the mountain w/ ease.p

Similar Products Used:

k2 (a-star, eldo) burton (custom, floater, bmc), m3 capp

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 26, 2002]
matt King
Advanced

Strength:

Smooth ride, beautiful cosmetics, holds an edge well, great in powder, great pop off the jumps, spins easily, good for a variety of riding levels

Weakness:

hard to hit an edge, easy to deface

not a very good year for snow but a good over-all board

Similar Products Used:

Rozzy 2000,2001, now 157

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 31, 2002]
hansolo
Advanced

Strength:

LIght, responsive, quick, and holds an edge beautifully. Easy to turn, easy to jump, rides up on the powder and plows through the deep. Amazing control on the steep.

Weakness:

I have already cracked the top sheet due to my hard riding nature, but as the board looks so good already, the cosmetic damage is noticable, so far, that is the only weakness I can find.

HOLY SWEET POWDER. this is the best year for snow in oregon in 27 years, and having just bought my Woodie, I am the happiest man alive!

Similar Products Used:

Burton Alp, K2 freestyle somethng, and a couple of other rentals.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com