Burton Cruzer Freeride

Available At:
Cruzer

Once you’ve made it through your lesson and want to buy a board, consider the Cruzer. The easiest board to ride that we sell, it’s designed to pick up where your lesson left off, packing the performance of a lifetime ride. 3° edge bevels will keep your edges catch-free. Extruded Base: Durable and easy to maintain. Biax Glass: Easy turning. 3° Edge Bevels: Predictable turns with catch-free confidence.

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
Matt   Snowboarder [Oct 24, 2013]

It is a great beginner board. I have the 09 154 wide. It is more for groomer and POW. It is a heavy and a little rigid board and that makes it great for downhill slaloms and nice carved long turns. I use a burton freestyle bindings with it and they work fine with it. Its is a little unstable when you re on the base riding very vast but is a forgiving board. I got it on my 3 rd year of snowboarding and use it still today. However I am upgrading to custom flying v soon.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
ace_roxz   Snowboarder [Dec 29, 2007]

I just got the board and it is really easy to go on slalom. Its got nice turning and its fast, nice for the races. I had a bad old board to start out the year, this is so much smother. this is my 3rd year riding and i think its good for a beginner. So if you should want to start, this is the board for you. It is kind of pricey, but its worth ur money.

Similar Products Used: Morrow, Burton super model demo
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
joe smichdt   Snowboarder [Mar 13, 2007]

great all around board-pretty darn heavy-got it done in colorado, n.j, and vermont- don't buy if you ride park-this thing weighs a lot-i ride park so i got rid of it- only use on groomed and powder trails

Similar Products Used: burton clash-same thing- lighter
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
JROCK13   Advanced [Jul 15, 2004]
Strength:

its got good flex nice edge and speed is okay

Weakness:

i could only get three screw in my bindings but theres nothing wrong with the board.

This is the best board that i have ever owned, i have had 5 other board none of them come close to the intenseness of this board. you could say that i have never whiped out by caughting my edge or anytime going straight away if your a beginner this is ur board. but im not a beginner(5 years in ) this board is still a good board for more skilled riders.

Similar Products Used: burton custom highbacks
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Ryan Skotnicki   Intermediate [Jan 10, 2004]
Strength:

Very easy board to ride, great for all riders, very forgiving

Weakness:

Not very fast

This is a great board all around and very easy to ride

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
burtonsb1389   HardCore [Jan 05, 2004]
Strength:

flexible,durible and fast as anything

Weakness:

none that im aware of

This is about my 38th board that ive had in my life, and it is just about the best ive ever road. Most people know me{shaun palmer}, and i'm a professional rider, but even though i get my boards for free, this is still the best board ive rode. Ive someone you know wants this board, dont hesitate to buy it....buy it!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
funkydan   Intermediate [Jul 12, 2003]
Strength:

Marketed as a beginner board and totally delivers on that. Easy to learn on. Good price point (especially on ebay off season)

Weakness:

For what its intended for, none!

Nice beginner board, may work well for the ocassional boarder too. I was a 40 year old first timer this past season ('02-03), heck, I never even skied before. About the only thing I did even remotely like snowboarding was some skateboarding in the 1970s. So as far as beginners go I think I fit the bill. Anyway my first day out consisted of a lesson, a rental board and 7 hours of intense pain in the poconos in december crappy conditions. I had bruises that lasted for weeks and eventhough I really wanted to learn snowboarding I new I could not take anymore days like that (I think once when I caught an edge I was even knocked unconscience for a couple seconds). Well I read a review for the cruzer that said it was a very forgiving and I figured thats what I needed. I hit the slopes again about 2 weeks later and What a difference, it had snowed about 4 inches and the night before they made a couple inches of snow under that so it was nice and soft, we took another lesson as part of a package deal spent the day on the bunny slopes. Not one painful fall all day and by the end of the day I was linking turns a little and actually doing something that resembled snowboarding. The next day out we hit the intermediate slopes and after getting over the initial shock of the height and steepness actually had a painless good time. The greatest compliment I can give this board is that I never caught an edge that lead to a painful fall with it. If you ever caught an edge while going somewhat fast and have been snapped onto your backside you can appreciate that, the pain can be so intense that it will make some people give up snowboarding altogether. I have seen many people trade in their rental boards for skis after a couple of hours of that pain. One thing I'd like to say before I'm done is how about some of you older guys giving snowboarding a try? I think I saw about 5 guys all year long that weren't young enough to be my kids.

Similar Products Used: Burton Custom
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
Yacko   Intermediate [Apr 01, 2003]
Strength:

Light weight and easy to carve.

Weakness:

None...yet.

Great beginner board, but still good for advanced riders.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
nienna_gaia   Beginner [Dec 11, 2002]
Strength:

Easy to link turns, not as easy to catch an edge

Weakness:

Not a fast board, and is not highly responsive - both of which are actually big pluses for beginners...but there were times when I wished that the board could go faster and carve harder than it did.

This is my second board - the first one that I rode was an advanced kid's board. I had a hard time linking turns, constantly caught edges, etc. I took a lesson using the Cruzer, and did so so well within the first hour that I moved off of the Bunny slope onto more advanced terrain at Brighton (still a green trail). Since I have my own Cruzer now, I am actually learning what mistakes I am making because the board gives me enough time to react/correct myself, whereas my first board would simply snap me on my ass without giving me time to realize that I was doing wrong. There were times when I was actually riding on the wrong edge, and should have been eating snow, but I didn't catch one edge. I highly recommend this board to anyone who is learning to ride.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
TJ   Intermediate [Dec 05, 2002]
Strength:

Light, Highly flexible great bevels,inexpensive for the quality

Weakness:

None........Yet

Im between beginner and Intermediate, but what a great first board, easy to jib , carving was a snap and smooth landings, I would highly recommend this board to a beginner its light and very forgiving.

Similar Products Used: Ride Catalyst, Burton Bullet
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 13  
Available At:
Available At:

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com