Never Summer Legacy Freeride

Available At:
Legacy

The Legacy's added width fits the need of bigger riders without sacrificing quickness and maneuverability. Its Poplar wood core provides a solid platform for ultimate control.

User Reviews (28)

Showing 1-10 of 28  
sushma11   [Jan 16, 2018]
Pros: test
Cons: -
Price: -   New/Used: New   Year Purchased: -
OVERALL
RATING
2
Available At:
Broc   Snowboarder [Feb 25, 2014]

Bought my never summer legacy along with forum Shaka bindings and ride Hy-Phy boots and am really happy I did. Awesome setup for all-mountain riding and the quality is top notch. I've put this board though some serious abuse and there is hardly a scratch on it.

PROS
-quality
-rocker/chamber system is awesome. The rocker center EATS powder and the chambered ends store massive pop!
-speed and control
-very smooth, the dampening system under the bindings is awesome. Never any speed vibrations.
-flex (medium) is perfect. playful enough for butters, rigid enough for high speeds and bombing bowls.

CONS
-none

Similar Products Used: Burton, nitro
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
wtfbbq2   Snowboarder [Dec 27, 2009]

Effortless turn initiation, this board goes where your head is looking. It may seem a little loose initially, but turn on the speed cut hard/cut soft doesn't matter this board sticks it and soaks up chop at any speed I had no problem keeping up with skiers. The edges are a little hard to find and can seem sloppy until you pick up serious speed and carve deep, this is an amazing board that is playful and flexible at slow speeds and tight/responsive at high speed. Once you find the edges this thing carves up down all around in tiny circles. The more energy you put into this board the more energy it puts out. Butterfly-Rocker/Camber rocks out! I am 6ft 190lbs on a 161 legacy-R and the board is a little small but I enjoy a board I can over-steer and this monster holds everything I throw at it!

Similar Products Used: Not quite the same pristine feel of the Burton CustomX but the 161Legacy is wider and a little heavier than the 165customX wide.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
marq   Snowboarder [Jan 11, 2008]

This is the best board money can buy. I have ridden since 1989, I have tried every major brand out there, & NOTHING compares to Never Summer. I have ridden legacy's for the last 9 years. In spring of 99 before a trip to HCSC at Mt Hood I got my 1st Legacy & since I would never consider another brand. Since I have had 2 more and I am about to buy my 4th. I started on a 156 then moved up to 159 (had two of them) & Now as I get older (& wider myself), I am stepping up to a 161. It dominates the park, screams on groomers, & cuts pow like a hot knife thru butter. It holds its edge at warp speeds on the hardest pack, & never chatters. It is so snappy & has such a great pop, & When you lay it down on this board you stomp it with authority. When things got squirrelly, this board has saved my ass from some gnarly crashes on some of the hardest landings you can imagine by holding when it has to but giving when its needed its almost like its just "knows". Do your self, & your riding the best favor you could ever wish for… buy a legacy.

Customer Service

I have never had a issue with any of my legacy that I would call a defect. The bases have taken rail after rail, & rock after rock with no issue. The only problem I ever had was cracking the edges, but that is a result of hard landings on metal hand rails, Metal on metal is fun, but bad for the long term life of your edge. This happend on 1 legacy 159, after 2 plus seasons & I go up 20+ times a season.

Similar Products Used: I have ridden, Blacksnow, Snowtech, Barfoot, Burton, Morrow, Ride,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bialistatsky   Snowboarder [Oct 10, 2007]

If you are larger than the average rider, in my humble opinion, there is nothing better.
I am 6'3" 250 size 13 boots. Last season,after riding a Ride Yukon for a couple of years, I was looking for something with a little more juice.
I picked up the Legacy w/out demoing because of high praise from friends on other NS models, it is American made and it comes with an unequaled 3 year warranty. Oh, and lots of research.
Where the Ride was a bomber that was fast but clunky on transitions, the Legacy was faster, more agile and more clatter free then the Yukon.
The first day on it in Val D'Isere, there was 4 ft of freshie and the NS blazed ferarri-like through it all. So much so, it was hard to keep up with on the first day.In northeast pack, it glides over any variation with ease.

Again, if your a wide board rider, look no further than the Never Summer Legacy.



OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Available At:
cdaler   Snowboarder [Jan 27, 2006]

This snowboard ROCKS, I'm 6'2" and 240lb size 13 and this board takes it all. This board loves the powder, crusty stuff, you name it. I got it for a steal off of ebay so it's a little short @159 but makes the trees that much easier to navigate.

Similar Products Used: Vision snowboard (snaped in two when it got caught between me and a tree.) Never Summer much better
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
T-bone   Snowboarder [Mar 05, 2005]

I purchased a 170cm Legacy and rode it all season in North America and during the summer in South America. I am a large rider ... 6'4", 225lbs and bought the Legacy 170 without demoing it. The only complaint I had is that it was a bit too big for me. I solved the problem this year by getting a smaller 165cm Legacy and couldn't be happier. This board will take your riding to a new level. It floats over powder and rips through crud. Very smooth on groomers and although a bit heavy is smooth landing big air. I have dished out several servings of sick abuse and I think it may be unbreakable. My wife says I love this board more than her ... I think she may be right! If you are looking for a new board definitely check out Never Summer. You will not be dissapointed!

Similar Products Used: Burton Custom, Burton T6, K2 Ambush, NS Titan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
patroller33   Advanced [Mar 15, 2004]
Strength:

Speed, the sintered 4000 base is as fast as they come. Durable, takes a beating and holds up well. Carves unbelievably, lay it out at high speed any terrain and it won't let you down. Stable, runs through crud with smoothest ride on the mountain. Unbelievable customer service, 3 year warranty, handmade quality board. You will never shop anywhere else after you get one of these boards.

Weakness:

Limited production, shops sell them fast. If you find your size don't wait too long to buy or you might not find another one 'til next season!

I actually have a 2005 Board, first one they produced. Called Never Summer for a pro deal in Feb 2004. They only had three boards left at the factory, none my size. At the time I had order in with Arbor and they didn't have a board left for me either. So they asked me if they could make me one(how sweet is that?). I got it one week later and they shipped it free of charge. Just called the mountain and verified I worked there, no long forms or slow processes.

Similar Products Used: Arbor Woodie
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
wookieman   Advanced [Feb 24, 2004]
Strength:

Fast Fast Fast Carves Carves Carves Sticks landings magically Don't normally care, but it looks great

Weakness:

The default stance width is too narrow for the size of person this board is meant for. You'll have to play with your bindings to get the right setup and this took a couple of days. After day one the blue topsheet started chipping away, but the board has 3 year warranty and I don't anticipate any probs with repair or replacement. It must be a little defective here b/c everyone else calls this the most bombproof board available. It is a little heavy but you can't tell when riding it.

This is the board. I have the 166 and am 6'1/220 with size 12 dogs. It cuts and carves better than any other wide board out there, and it is fast as sin. I wasn't sure I could ever improve on my now-old Yukon 164, but this thing has done it. If you are a big guy that rides fast and hard and jumps and drops, *get this board*. I have only been on it 3-4 days

Similar Products Used: Ride Mountain, K2 Fatbob, Burton Canyon, Rossi Strato-Wide, Lib Tech Litigator, Ride Yukon
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
thecrimsonchin   Advanced [Feb 10, 2004]
Strength:

-Toe drag? Yeah right(I have size 13 boot too) -Fast Transitions -Great, and I mean great damping -phenomenal edge hold -snap crackle POP!! -stability -durability -Nice pola bear graphics too, sure too impress the ladies!

Weakness:

-Heavy, not a concernt while riding but hiking with it is like lifting weights -Price, I couldn't afford another if it got stolen.

I have the 2004 model and it just kills. I was going to wait a year before reviewing this so that I could say with certainty that it's durable but I love it so much I just couldn't wait. This baby loves speed. I almost get scared I'm going so fast sometimes but even in the ice I've never once felt unstable, or unsure. Your confidence just soars while riding this thing. The base absorbs wax like crazy and holds it. It powers out of the turns, and carves like no other. I can link my way through moguls, or sometimes just ride right over them and I never feel remotely close to falling. The damping qualities are just amazing. Last week I flew off a 10 ft drop, and it felt like an ollie on the landing. Speaking of ollies-the pop is sweet too! The board feels heavy compared to some, but once you've got it on your feet it doesn't matter. I can spin 3's with no problems on this and it feels like a friggen spring board if you try walking it a bit. Like I said, I haven't had it long enough to speak on durbability but after two months it doesn't have a single scratch, and I've hit a few rails with it already. Overall I don't think I could be happier. It performs better than almost any board out there and will hold up over the years to come. Just keep in mind when your thinking of getting one that even if something bigger and better comes out this will last. No more searching for another board every few seasons.

Similar Products Used: Liquid elixir(Not bad at all for 100 bucks), rossignol scope(soo sweet), my cousins k2 union(a lot like the elixir), salomon mandate(also great edge hold, and very fast if your a speed demon like me) In the end, none compare.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com