Ride Profile Freeride

Ride Profile Freeride 

DESCRIPTION

Perfect for backcountry stealth riders, this board offers smooth edge control and delivers a fine ride with confidence in any conditions.. Tip-to-tail 3D wood core is 7% lighter than Ride's standard core, yet structurally stronger with triaxial glass providing torsional stiffness and snap. Core is reinforced with carbon fiber and Kevlar® strips providing torsional stiffness and a quick response time. M1 "Swarf" angle cap construction reduces weight but offers a precise edge for increased hold and readiness to carve up anything. Metal edges, plus aluminum tip and tail deliver maximum protection and durability. Fusion 2000 sintered base provides fast, smooth rides through backcountry powder as well as hardpack.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Apr 23, 2019]
agal05


Strength:

Very strong board but easy to land, not directional, so you really need to surf. The first two turns, I had the impression of having the feet in a cement block by habit of easy and directional boards. Then, after realizing my proper mistake, and that I'll have to send heavy with this one : - OUAW, THAT'S A BOARD !!! Reactive, nervous, with a boost that sends you from one square to another, a joy to ride. And all this strength and nervousness is very useful when it comes to sending a ten meter rock bar or a big kicker, it fights hard and the reception is so flexible and safe. Good behavior in the air, perfectly stable, without unpleasant surprises. My use for this board: ALL MOUNTAINS, and it is true that I took it everywhere in the French Alps, it is wonderful in powder (easy to take off), dynamic and VERY FAST on the ski slopes, comfortable in the park, catchy on the icy snow like your wishes, and she sends you within 30 meters at the slightest break: this Board knows how to do everything. So Salomon and Nitro stay at home, Burton too, and to go out I take what? Just my snowshoes ... and this!

Weakness:

Not a snowboard for slackers, this one is for surfers, requires some basics, not for beginners unless a guy of great size.

Price Paid:
399
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2003
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 06, 2010]
Alex Mercer
Snowboarder

I originally got this board at the shop I worked at, it was free so I rode it. I agree with everyone, its not a beginner's board and it takes a very good knowledge of your setup to get it feeling right. It doesn't ride pipe well, but it is a GREAT all mountain board. If you throw big spins in marginal terrain then you should do ok, works good in the park too, but not great on rails for me. Buy this if you are onto your third board and have about 5-6 years under your belt and want a stellar second board for all mountain days. I liked it enough to get a second even though it didn't cost much. I have retired both of them now and gone back to lib techs and romes. Oh, and it is good for jibs and butters, but terrible on ice.

Similar Products Used:

A few liquid boards were similar, they are of that general quality but better.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 06, 2008]
Dagon7
Snowboarder

Bought this board barely used for a $225, at first I didn't like it all but after adjusting my stance and fine tunning the Union Force bindings to compensate for the side cut the board took on a whole new personality. Super fast, agile and light, poppy off of jumps, I love this board now. I have been riding for 15 years and have ridden MANY different boards, the only boards I liked more were the Invasion 165 twin (Invasion no longer exists) and the Endeavor B.O.D. but the endeavor is too stiff for all around riding so the ride wins. To the guy that used it once and the beginner, you should understand that this an advanced board not meant for beginners and that it demands precise set up for the individual rider.

Similar Products Used:

Endeavor B.O.D 159
Invasion 165 twin
Burton 7
Stepchild Simon Chamberlain
Kemper Aggressor
Gnu Anti-gravity
K2 Illusion
Atomic Kung Pow


OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 10, 2006]
brad
Snowboarder

I bought this board w/o ever snowboarding in 2001. For a beginner I would recommend a board that is more flexible. The board isnt very responsive in icy conditions because of its edge, but, you get what you paid for. I used this board for 3yrs and recently purchased the '06-07 Ride #4.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Sep 05, 2005]
dudemaster
Snowboarder

very nice board for a very nice price

Similar Products Used:

-allian kale stephens -forum destroyer -burton canyon -duotone style -scott alturis -airwalk master

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 26, 2003]
Rob Sabin
Advanced

Strength:

great control. great flexability. very strong

Weakness:

not as fast as previous boards ive had.

INSANE! i was so happy that i went with this board. Perfect edge control and super light weight. I wasnt sure if i should take it in the park but after i hit a few rails with it i knew it would be fine. and it was.

Similar Products Used:

Rossignol freeride 161

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 10, 2003]
evren
Advanced

Strength:

lightweight

Weakness:

poor egde grip, unstable on ice or slightly hard surface

i used this board once, it belongs 2 a friend. after my rossignol stylus 162, ride profile 160 was not good at all. the edge grip is very poor, slides on ice while the other boards like the rossi stylus or burton jussi cuts thru it like a knive. plus the overall riding feel that you get is not satisfoctory. it feels like its not stable.

Similar Products Used:

rossignol stylus (much better)

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 14, 2003]
Steven Kirk
Intermediate

Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

None

Sic board. I got the 160. Handles great and has a good response.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 25, 2002]
Olof
HardCore

Strength:

Graphics ???

Weakness:

Way to soft for a person over 70 kg who can ride. The base i realy poor, it doesent maintain wax more than one our at the mountain. The edge-grip isn´t good on hardpacked our on ice. I sold it after two weaks. I almost feel sorry about the man who buyed that crappy board from me.

Don´t waste you money

Similar Products Used:

Canyon, Custom ,Balance ,Rush ,Sequence, Floater, 450, Frank, Ride Frestyle and many other boards.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 20, 2002]
Mongo
Advanced

Strength:

Stiff. Quick response.

Weakness:

Because of the stiffness, it needs a little speed for best handling.

I got the 164 so I would have plenty of float in Utah powder, but was pleasently suprised by it''s all around versatility. This board is stiff, and stable, yet turns very quickly thanks to the aggressive side cut. A great all around board for aggressive riding in varied conditions.

Similar Products Used:

Sims Descender 159 Sims Soul Carve 155

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com