Asolo AFX 535 V Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

Asolo AFX 535 V Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

n/a

USER REVIEWS

Showing 11-20 of 58  
[Apr 21, 2003]
James
Backpacker

This is the first pair of boots that i have owned so I'm not able to compare them to another brand. I have taken them through lots, including the West Coast Trail. They were comfortable and i came away with no blisters. I would highly recomend these but you should water proff them. I only put on one coat and my feet got soaked in the heavy rain. So if you water proff them well this should not be a problem.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

n/a

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 02, 2002]
kstuart
Backpacker

I bought these boots on recommendation from these very reviews for a summer of trail work in Kings Canyon, CA. Man am i impressed with these boots! It took a few blisters to actually start breaking them in, but once I trucked through enough snow to break them in, it was like wearing my running shoes. I experienced a few hot spots in the beginning, but nothing really horrible. I had to live in these boots for an entire summer and if my feet could talk, they would sing praise of these boots! Great for narrow feet, light, minimal break in time. Bad part is that doing rock work puts some burly tears in the leather.

Customer Service

haven't had to deal with them yet

Similar Products Used:

Old redwings...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 14, 2002]
Howie
Car Camper

I''m not 100% sure these are the boots I own. I went to the Asolo Web site, and the picture looks almost exactly the same. The only differences I can SEE are a Vibram sole (unlike mine) and a gray collar (mine are brown). It''s true that they darken significantly when treated, but mine have been darkened beautifully, between the treatment and boot polish. I got them about 5.5 years ago to go to Philmont, NM, between my freshman and sophomore years of high school. They eventually became my daily-wear shoes, and they still handle hikes like a dream (though the traction isn''t like new, naturally). They''ve broken in wonderfully, and I now use them for anything from day hikes to week-long trips (mainly weekends), as well as for daily wear. When I replace these boots, they''re going on my wall. I love them.

Customer Service

Ha! For the first time, I wrote to Asolo to see if it''s definitely the boot I have. This was literally within the past 10 minutes.

Similar Products Used:

Does anyone even MAKE anything comparable? Probably not.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 12, 2002]
hiss2
Backpacker

I''ve had these boots for almost 4 years now. I''ve used them on numberous hikes, backpacking trips, and recently for everyday use. I have had no problems what so ever. I can not say enough about what a product they are. They''ve been thru hell and back and are still in great shape. With a coat of snow seal every 6 months or so; they stay perfectly dry and comfortable. The only thing I''ve had to replace is the laces which got chewed up over the years. For the price you really can''t beat them.

Customer Service

Haven''t had to deal with them.

Similar Products Used:

Vasque, Merrell

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 15, 2001]
jega
Backpacker

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

this is a good boot for my purposes. i have skinny ankles, and feet, and these boots fit well. not that they are made for such circumstances, i think they would fit larger feet just as well. the things that stand out for me are the water resistance and the support. i usuallly encounter mud on every outing and i enjoy stomping right into it with no worry that my feet will get wet and they havent yet. i nixwaxed them once and may do it again in about 2 years or so. One thing about the support, it isnt just the great support around the ankles, but the shank they put in the sole is very stiff, and comes in handy for me becuase i usually carry 50+ loads. the only negative comments i have about the boot are about the traction when on ice. it seems more slippery than tennis shoes, but then again what shoe isnt slippery on ice?

Customer Service

rei, is great when it comes to getting boots, i tried vasque and zamberlan on tests in my living room before settling on the asolos.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 23, 2001]
Mark
Backpacker

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

Unfortunately my experience was not as good as others here have reported. My problem with these boots is the top shoe lace rivet on the leftside of the right boot, seems to be located in such a position that digs into the inner side my right upper ankle area. Even wearing extra thick socks, adding moleskin, changing the lacing pattern. The pain becomes unbearable after only a mile or so walking in them. I checked another pair of the same model at REI and noticed the top lace rivets were higher and more forward than the pair I have. I tried them on and they felt much better than the pair I have and told the salesperson my situation. She said that if I had bought them at REI, I would have been able to return them and have them replaced right away.

Customer Service

I took them back to Nomad Adventures to see if I could exchange them for another pair. They said it was not their policy to take back shoes that had been worn even once and any problems with the boot

Similar Products Used:

Lowe

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 19, 2001]
Mark
Backpacker

Strength:

None

Weakness:

None

Unfortunately my experience was not as good as others here have reported. My problem with these boots is the top shoe lace rivet on the leftside of the right boot, seems to be located in such a position that digs into the inner side my right upper ankle area. Even wearing extra thick socks, adding moleskin, changing the lacing pattern. The pain becomes unbearable after only a mile or so walking in them. I checked another pair of the same model at REI and noticed the top lace rivets were higher and more forward than the pair I have. I tried them on and they felt much better than the pair I have and told the salesperson my situation. She said that if I had bought them at REI, I would have been able to return them and have them replaced right away.

Customer Service

I took them back to Nomad Adventures to see if I could exchange them for another pair. They said it was not their policy to take back shoes that had been worn even once and any problems with the boot

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 04, 1999]
Mike La Rotonda
Backpacker

I have very narrow feet and this is one of the few boots I've tried that fits great from the start. It's a very comfortable boot. The sole seems a bit high and sometimes feels unstable on granite or other flat surfaces.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 26, 2001]
john
Backpacker

Used these boots heavily for last six months including recent two week heavy duty backpack. Excellent quality. I replaced the Asolo insole with the Superfeet Hiking insole (highly recommended for all backpacking boots) as I've previously had arch support problems. Have had three small blisters in over 200 miles of wear. Only thing I've had to do for these boots is re-Nikwax.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 28, 2000]
Rob
Backpacker

These boots fit great right out of the box. I've worn them on everything from 3 hour day hikes to several day backpacking trips. Most of it on the AT in Eastern Pennsylvania, which I think would thoroughly test the fortitude of any good boot. All without any problems-no hotspots, blisters or soreness.

Mine don't have Gore-tex, so I periodically slather them with Sno-seal. Which pretty much destroys the Nu-buck finish, but the leather itself is fine. And I've had no problems with wet feet, unless it gets in from the top of the boot.

The only complaint I have is I'm going to have to replace the Vibram sole after only two years--a small price to pay for a great boot.

Similar Products Used:

Timberland-fell apart after a year

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 11-20 of 58  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com