Fabiano Mountain Master Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots

Fabiano Mountain Master Mens Hiking Backpacking Boots 

DESCRIPTION

n/a

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Oct 20, 2021]
joeanderson


Strength:

I not only use it for hiking but also for every day work. It's very comfortable!

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 20, 2021]
Madmardigan


Strength:

Their suede lightweight hiking boots were of an exceptional high quality that wore and fit people very well. -- Tile Company

Weakness:

none so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 16, 2021]
Kiyumi22


Strength:

The most comfortable, most durable boots I have ever owned. They fit well the first time on, and continue to do so. -- Tile Mosaics

Weakness:

none so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 27, 2011]
DavidM
Backpacker

@ Fabiano
As a former avid wilderness hiker/backpacker I was one of those who spoke to a Fabiano and was enlightened with much insight in the subject of mountaineering boots. Having purchased several pairs (for myself and family) a mere observation of the boots design and construction is testimony to the builders integrity. Yes, some models are stiff and heavy but as with all tools of the trade, it met its intent honorably and as any knowledgeable mountaineer would testify, in rocky terrain and mid-heavy gear, a break to the ankle is likely without a boot of this type. I thank the Fabiano family for their years of dedication.

Similar Products Used:

Scarpa, Raichle boot, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 01, 2007]
Louie
Mountaineer

My Fabiano Montagnas was the best fitting and most comfortable pair of heavy backpacking boots I have ever had, and I have more than a dozen. The Mountain Master is more stiff and does not have as soft interior as the Montagnas.

Customer Service

The mountain master developed black spots in the interior as I was breaking them in, as I used them as my back-up/approach boots for the trip I had in the Himalayas in '95. I called Fabiano customer service and said they would call the manufacturer and call me back in a few days. 2 weeks later no return call and I called again since I was going out of the country in a few days. They said that they will call me the next day. Two days later, I called again, the day before I was to leave to find out what the manufacturer had said about the "molding". The person I spoke with said"just rub some alcohol on it". Great boots, crappy customer service. Never considered buying from them again.

Similar Products Used:

Raichle Mt. Blanc

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 14, 2004]
Quent Boyle
Day Hiker

From 1965 to 1980 we used to sell various models of Fabiano boots at Skimeister Sport Shop in N Woodstock, NH. Their suede lightweight hiking boots were of an exceptional high quality that wore and fit people very well. They offered 3 widths, which most companies don't do, and we appreciated the continuous years of quality that Fabiano provided in these boots. We are sorry to hear they are out of business.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 15, 2001]
cbrandt
Day Hiker

Summer season - 4 to 8 mile hikes 2 - 3 times a week on steep talus, scree, stoney river bottoms, and tundra - no trails. Pack wt. : usually 0, sometimes 15 to 35 lbs. of photo equipment.

Have used a pair of similar Fabianos for about 10 years -- the Vibram soles are worn flat, holes worn in the sides -- but for ridge climbing, steep talus and scree, tundra hummocks, and cobbled river bottoms I feel these are hard to beat. Plastic boots won't yield to my wide feet, and lightweight boots do not offer the needed support.

I'm ready for another pair.

Customer Service

No service needed

Similar Products Used:

Assorted nylon/rubber lightweights

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 09, 2000]
Bob Tope
Climber

I have owned a pair of Fabiano Montagnas for thirty years, and they are still the most comfortable, most durable boots I have ever owned. They fit well the first time on, and continue to do so.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 09, 2000]
Ed Fabiano
Day Hiker

Mountain master rebuttal

Customer Service

It's a shame that people take to the internet to ruthlessly slander another persons name rather than confront the person directly.

My family sold boots in the outdoor industry for over 40 years and i can honestly say that our staying power was not attributed to our being "rude jerks".

It was about a company made up of family who stood on the loading docks taking boots off a truck, unpacking and inspecting those boots, answering the phones to speak with all our customers both retail stores and individual consumers, and staying after hours to finish up any and all other aspects of the day to day operations of running a company. It was about a lifetime commitment to a company built by our father and his father before him.

We took it all, both the good and the bad and never once did we insinuate that we were perfect. If a customer called up with words of praise, they talked to a Fabiano. Likewise if a customer called up with a complaint, they talked to a Fabiano. We were a wholesaler/distributor, but we also spent alot of time fielding calls from individual consumers who had questions and concerns and in each and every case, they spoke to a Fabiano. We never hid behind an automated answering service or hired a fall guy to take customer complaints. We did it ourselves.

As to the individual complaints posted by this particular customer, I will not use a public forum to argue the credibilty of his statements. My e-mail address is posted above and he can contact me any time he wants.

Fabiano Shoe Co. closed it's doors in early 1999 when the italian manufacturer chose to pursue other distribution avenues. My brother and I walked away with our heads held high knowing that although we may not have been perfect and we could not be all things to all people, we gave that business 1000% of our blood sweat and tears and did the best damn job that we were capable of doing.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 27, 2000]
Chuck
Mountaineer

This is really an old fashioned mountaineering boot, which limits the use you'll get from it. It is too heavy and stiff for general backpacking and the really stiff heel can make for nasty blisters. I would also suggest this boot be used by clydesdales only (200 lbs and up). However, I do use this boot extensively for snow hiking and climbing. Jam on double wool socks and a heavy pack and go all day (this is not a technical mountaineering boot, it only accepts strap-ons). For this usage, it has been very durable and dependable, however it is a narrow range of use.

Customer Service

The retailer was only selling this boot to folks over 200 lbs!

Similar Products Used:

Vasque, OneSport

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com