Perception Swifty Kayaks

Perception Swifty Kayaks 

DESCRIPTION

Length: 9'4 ft Width: 29.5 in

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 32  
[Aug 15, 2012]
Bruce Henning
Paddler

I've just spent a weekend at the lake and purchased my 9 year old Grand-daughter a Swifty kayak. She loves it!! It's an excellent beginner kayay that will give a person the confidence to move on to bigger, better, and faster kayak later on. You can't put a child in a "tippy" boat and expect them to enjoy it. So, start them right with a Swifty...you can alway get your money back as you upgrade.

Similar Products Used:

Wilderness pongo, Old Town, perception eclipse and many others.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 06, 2010]
Penny
Paddler

I love this kayak. Great Price. Lightweight to carry, yet holds a larger person very easily. Great on flat and quick water. Very stable. I think campared to some I've paddled it tracks quite well. Has a nice tight turn. The positive reviews are very accurate.

HIGHLY reccomend the 9.5 Swifty, which I have two of, to the beginner who isn't sure how they'll like it and doesn't want to invest a fortune. I have been very pleased and don't see a need to "upgrade" to a higher dollar version. Couldn't be happier.

Similar Products Used:

Ocean Kayak, Perception- Torrent (Sit on Top), Otter.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 09, 2010]
creighta
Paddler

Bought this for my 8yr old son to paddle with me. He picked it out and it was one of the cheapest boats in the store.

I am very impressed with it. I would not want to row all day on flatwater in it, but it rows easily, turns tight, and I have been able to jump it completely out of the water over ski-boat wake.

great river boat and excellent short distance boat. My wife wants one like it now.

Similar Products Used:

Old Towne Loon 138

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 02, 2010]
tannerbowersox22
Backpacker

as a rule... fat and short does not equal a good kayak. i have paddled this boat and have had people paddle this boat while i paddled my own boat, and overall i can conclude that the swiftys, otters, and the like are not bad but cause the paddler to exert so much needless effort due to the shape and size of the boat. I would recommend forking out the extra cash on a nicer rec boat. ex: old town cayuga 146, perception carolina, perception essence, etc. etc... they cut the water sooo much better and will provide for a much more rewarding, less tiring paddle due to the kayak being able to cut the water much more easily.

Similar Products Used:

old town otter, perception aquaterra umiak, dagger blackwater 12, old town cayuga 146, pyranha s6x

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 09, 2010]
drinnt
Paddler

Before buying the 9.5' Swifty I read a lot of mixed reviews that leaned toward the positive side for novice users. I have to say I really like it.

I am a novice kayaker but a 30 year boating veteran. I bought two of these for my wife and I. We went out for a couple hours this week. It was on a lake with about 8mph winds.

The little kayak was very stable, extremely manueverable and has a decent speed. At one point I even laid down in it with my feet up on the deck. A very stable little boat.

It's very responsive to the paddle. That might be bad for some people as it noses left and right if you really dig in the paddle...but on a positive note you can do a 360 degree turn within a 10' diameter. Great for tight spots.

It handled the wind very well. Even though the wind impacted our speed, if we stopped and drifted we didn't drift any more than in a canoe or fishing boat.

Speed wise it definitely has a limit. You have to paddle hard to get good speed. But on the flip side if you paddle gently you get better speed than you would expect from the minimal effort. And if you stop paddling it does glide along straight rather well.

I would HIGHLY recommend these for the price we paid, $299 at Dicks. I would recommend them for novice and intermediate paddlers. Unless you have a special need for a specific type of boat, the Swifty will exceed your recreational kayak expectations. Order your paddles from Amazon.com and save even more money. We got some awesome sturdy paddles for $24 a piece.

Oh yeah. Save on roof racks and kayak carriers on discountramps.com. We got a Thule style kayak carrier for $39 a set!!!

Enjoy!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 30, 2010]
Mike
Paddler

I'm 6'2, 240 lbs, The swifty handles the load great. I primarily use it in Rivers with no rapids. I feel like it's a tad on the small side but it does the trick just fine.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 25, 2009]
Schuie
Paddler

I've wanted to kayak for a long time, too long. When I saw this cute Perception, Swifty 9.5 at such a great price I bought it. I live in the NYS Finger Lakes Area, with many lakes, ponds, and streams. I've used it at least once a week , have introduced 4 friends and my 2 teens to my new yak. They all love it and 4 of them have bought their own. These people were a bit skittish about the whole idea, thinking they would flip out of the kayak (too much discovery channel), the stable little Swifty quickly cured them. For beginners this seems to be the perfect kayak. I've used other boats and they seem a bit tipsy and heavy compared to the Swifty. The Swifty is small (38lbs.), perfect for me at 5'3" and 115lbs,it maybe too small for a large person.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jul 04, 2009]
QUIG
Paddler

Fantastic all around rec boat. Very stable. easy to manuever. Great for flat to class II. great fo people just getting int kayaking. With little effort very good at keeping on line. did I mention it's stability? Have used it from river in NY to Lake Erie (while ralatively flat, and in heavy surf ... 5 ft. + waves), to lakes and rivers in TN. HIGHLY RECOMENDED

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 18, 2008]
Rebecca Nichols
Paddler

I have a Perspcetion Swifty (3.1)...have had it for five years and LOVE IT! Its light enough to lift onto my car (40 lbs.) lovely for a "stroll" around the lake and GREAT for attacking the waters generated by passing boasts. I have had my kayaky on the Harpeth River with 2.o waves and NEVER had a problem. There's not enough money in Tennessee to buy my Kayak-Yak-Yak away from me!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 21, 2008]
gdrew1
Paddler

I was going to purchase the Old Town Otter, however, the store was fresh out of them. With that being said, I'm glad they were out because the Swifty is a nice kayak. This is my first kayak and have never been in one and I had no problems using this. Very sturdy and well balanced. I paddled the entire 2000 acres of Lake Massabesic with ease. The seat is comfortable and the boat comes with adjustable foot pegs!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 32  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com