Burton Canyon Freeride

Burton Canyon Freeride 

DESCRIPTION

The wide version of the legendary Jack of All Trades, the Canyon is a Custom in disguise. With light weight, Carbon I-Beam-fueled snap, and a sidecut that doesn’t make bigger feet suffer, the Canyon stands alone in a sea of scaled-up pretenders. Sintered Base: Holds wax, is durable, and moves right along. Lite Triax: Light weight and torsional stiffness. Carbon I-Beam: Lots of snap; stop using cheater jumps to get on handrails. Super Fly II Core: Light, strong, and lively flex. Dualzone EGD: Precise edge hold.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 26  
[Aug 13, 2013]
Joseph
Snowboarder

the Burton Canyon is the board of legend. I got mine the year it FIRST CAME OUT! I know there are people who upgrade boards every couple years, but if you ride 10-20 days a year, like I do, you can ride this hard hitting bad boy into the sunset! I've been LOVING the high-speed carving stability, like it's in rails with no stutter, responsive but silky, bad assitude with luxury. Only now, we'll over a decade later am I looking into a new board, just for the tech improvements, but I want something as close to a Canyon as I can get!!!

Similar Products Used:

If you insist on the best in everything, Cartel bindings, Seirus "Da Bone" or "Skeleton" gloves...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 18, 2013]
David Gonzalez
Snowboarder

Durable board- 4th season and sill holds stiff, plenty of snap left in it. Incredibly responsive. Worth upgrading bindings if you've got less than highest performance. Ass hauler on packed and groomers; navigates well in powder up to about 2 feet. Thereafter not ideal powder board. I'm 44 yrs old, 6'0 215 lbs on land. Get me on my canyon and I'm 22 years old, 5'8 and 160 lbs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 19, 2010]
George L
Snowboarder

I'm a nube, I have Big feet. The Burton Canyon was recommended and so far, I Love it

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 03, 2008]
Scherlinx
Snowboarder

This is a great board for people with big feet. Works great on the whole mountain but seeing it as its directional it can be hard to ride/land switch but not impossible.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 14, 2008]
snowking911
Snowboarder

THis board is by far the best boardi have ever ridin. I ride a 164cm. im 6 foot 3 170. this board handles great in the deep stuff...the glades are awesome...i will never buy anything else than a buron...this board rips hard..halls down the mountain with great response!!!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 11, 2007]
Cos Llanas
Snowboarder

This board ripps it does every thing and ne thing.i take it out to the park and it is 4 jibbing the berrels and rails perfect 4 doin some fat 5's and is dirty on those boxes! great control.good in powder.nice edges.great when carving doenst slip around.
all and all its a D**M good board!

Customer Service

Great

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 14, 2005]
Swirlee37
Snowboarder

163cm - Good for carving medium/long powerfull turns in almost any condition. Stiff in between the bindings. Stable at balls-out mach speed.Takes some work for quick turns. Very good rebound on exit turn. Not recommended for glades, moguls, or rails. Does well in the pipe. I'm looking to get a 166cm for powder days, above tree-line riding, and steep drops. Worth every $. Rider - 5'8'', 175 lbs.

Similar Products Used:

BMC, Timeless

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 21, 2005]
dk3
Snowboarder

Plain and simple. This board rips. I bought my 2005 Canyon 168 off a recommendation from a friend who runs a shop. Being 6'5" and 225lbs its hard to find a board that actually responds to my size. Before this board I was a dedicated Santa Cruz rider, but now after just a short time on this Burton, I'll never switch. It handles edge to edge like a champ, and my first ollie on the thing shot me higher in the air than I've ever been. Control is excellent at high speeds, and I'm always the first one down the mountain. It also behaves very nicely in the pipe, tremendous snap and really bites in on the wall. Versatility is the name of the game with this board, from freeriding to the park, it dominates. By far the best board I've riden.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 23, 2004]
Matt Dobson
Advanced

Strength:

Powder Speed Turning Overall cruising

Weakness:

Not the best in the park, but the undisputed winner everywhere else. topside is very soft and dents very easily.

I bought my canyon in late 2002 on a recommendation from my friend that owns the shop (it’s a 2003 canyon). This is by far the best board I have ever ridden. I am a big mountain/backcountry rider and this board kills every other model I have ridden in every field ( Burton balance, supermodel etc.) it is also an extremely fast and easy turning board. Double black gladded runs are nothing on this board. Powder is another one of this boards strengths with the bindings mounted back on the board as opposed to the freestyle setting floating over the deep stuff is simple. Couple this board to the c14s that I have or the newer c16s and you have one hell of a rig.

Similar Products Used:

super model balance

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 09, 2003]
Tobe Reed
HardCore

Strength:

Good in the park as well as the backcountry.

Weakness:

Just a little bit heavy, but no big deal

Overall Excellent Board, This is my third Canyon and won't be my last.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com