Burton Canyon Freeride

Burton Canyon Freeride 

DESCRIPTION

The wide version of the legendary Jack of All Trades, the Canyon is a Custom in disguise. With light weight, Carbon I-Beam-fueled snap, and a sidecut that doesn’t make bigger feet suffer, the Canyon stands alone in a sea of scaled-up pretenders. Sintered Base: Holds wax, is durable, and moves right along. Lite Triax: Light weight and torsional stiffness. Carbon I-Beam: Lots of snap; stop using cheater jumps to get on handrails. Super Fly II Core: Light, strong, and lively flex. Dualzone EGD: Precise edge hold.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 11-20 of 26  
[Aug 04, 2003]
Jake LaCross
Advanced

Strength:

-fast -turns well -good on jumps -nice flex

Weakness:

the only problem that ive found with this board is that it doesnt have that great of an edge to edge response. its a big board so it takes more to go from toeside to heelside.

i bought this board pretty cheap and i was happy about that. ive brought it to smuggs a lot of times and its still in good condition. its a great board for the price and u can smoke any of ur friends.

Similar Products Used:

burton motion

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 12, 2003]
paul
Advanced

Strength:

fast, carves well for a big board, durable, I have beat the crap out of mine.

Weakness:

it's a big board, if you have small feet use a custom.

this is my second canyon I use my first one for the begining of season when the snow is lacking. size 168 big footer, 6-5 260# this board has stayed up in the deepest snow even for my size but yet I'm still the first one down the mountain waiting for my friends when were on the crusers or bumbs. this thing is fast and carves very well. real good at high speed not much chater at all. it's been the only board i've been using for the last 5 years.

Similar Products Used:

other burton's, k2, simms, solomon, ride, palmer.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 24, 2003]
Barry
Advanced

Strength:

Fast, sweet carves, tons of drive and control, flies like a bird lands really well. Plenty of pop without being too rigid

Weakness:

Big board so not as flickable from edge to edge,

This actually the '03 board I'm reviewing. Its a 168, a big step up from my 156. This thing is a demon, it cannot go slow, carves through everything like a chainsaw through butter. Sweetest board ever.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 13, 2003]
Donald Guy
Advanced

Strength:

Powder machine.. but good in all conditions. Burton stand behind there products like no one else and you know they're not going out of business anytime soon.

Weakness:

Bad graphics.. yikes!

Thoroughly enjoying my 168 Canyon. Have about 40 days on it and it still has great snap. An absolute powder p*nis. Forget about having to be a big man to ride this honey.. just ride big.

Similar Products Used:

TypeA, K2, Burton Craig Kelly (RIP)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 31, 2003]
Ryan James
Advanced

This board is the bomb, because of my big feet and the love for the custom

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 25, 2002]
Daniel Austin
HardCore

Strength:

Respose and agility (I put my boards through hell. Durable stiffness is key and the snap on it is amazing for getting up on the rails

Weakness:

Its a fat board we already know the weeknesses but hey this one makes up for them in the end

A solid Board and reliable I've snaped two hiting the big Jumps but Burton has replaced them in a snap. Great for the big feet and Solid on the landings hold its edge well and I find it fast edge to edge more so then other Fat ass boards

Similar Products Used:

The Floater, Rippy,Canyon 99-02(4 boards) Libtech products (3 diffrent boards)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 22, 2002]
Chris Atkinson
Intermediate

Strength:

Stable as Polar Polotics

Weakness:

Non

Tis truely the dogs dangalies! I now aim for ice pack to pick up speed, this board gives you so much confidence!

Similar Products Used:

Burton Floater

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 18, 2002]
Matt
Advanced

Strength:

no problems with it so far, stiff but not to stiff and i never snapped it

Weakness:

nothing so far

I'm 6'4" and 250pounds so i needed a good board thats going to hold up to some beating, which it did

Similar Products Used:

a lot of different boards, nothing even compares

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 05, 2002]
mrT69
Advanced

Strength:

Its a Burton. Its wide for those cursed with big feet. Its fast. Its stable.

Weakness:

Luckily got the 158 which has pretty cool graphics (they grow on you). Fortunatly avoided the 162 Green model which sucks ass. Top deck has taken a bit of a hammering in the lift cues but no more prone to damage than any other boards out their.

Sweet board, awesome for powder, sits up and cruises like a dream. Equally at home carving down icey courderey or jibbing rails. Nice and wide and good stiffness gives good pop and makes landings a breeze.

Similar Products Used:

Airwalk Match (Crap in comparisson)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 09, 2002]
Daniel
Intermediate

Strength:

Stable at high speed (easy to get there too) and really holds the edge on ice. Fairly easy to pop off the kickers too.

Weakness:

I got the green one with what looks like a dope leaf on the base. Truly ugly graphic. Often doesn't fit in the board holder on the cable lifts.

First board I've owned and been riding for 3 years. I guess because of my level I found it quite difficult to get used to. I'm 90Kg and 6'2 so I guess just on the small side for this 162 and probably the cause of the difficulty. Only took 2 days to get as good as on a narrower board though. Bend those knees!

Similar Products Used:

The usual rental stuff.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 11-20 of 26  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

outdoorreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com